Imac 2007 Upgrade questions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maril1111, May 23, 2011.

  1. maril1111, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 24, 2011

    maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Hey,

    We have an iMac 7.1 20inch from Mid 2007 at home.

    The Harddrives Link Speed is 3 Gigabit.

    Is it possible to built in this Harddrive into the Imac? even though it has a link speed of 6 Gigabit?
    http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/internal-storage/barracuda-xt-kit/

    And will it be able to support 3TB's?

    Also will this Fit into the iMac?

    Also is this good ram?

    http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B0031GNYCQ/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=AGDD4B1IH3F5X

    Or would this fit the into the Imac?

    http://www.amazon.de/Kingston-4GB-DDR2-PC2-5300-667MHz/dp/B000KWZ97M/ref=sr_1_31?ie=UTF8&qid=1306183175&sr=8-31

    The reviews are positive!

    Thank you for your help!:)

    Cheers,

    Marcell
     
  2. maril1111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    SATA is backwards compatible so the 3TB HD should work. The first RAM is okay but the second one is not compatible due to its size.
     
  4. maril1111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Thank you for your help!

    One last question, will the 3Tb HD physically fit Imac?And will the imac be able to adress the 3TB's?
     
  5. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #5
    Yes and yes.
     
  6. maril1111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    any experiences with this drive? or should i buy the WD?
     
  7. maril1111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    Bump any experiences with the Seagate 3TB drives?
     
  8. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #8
    Is there some reason why you need 3TB? Since your old drive was 250 gigs?

    What do you mean by "experience"? You plug it in and works.

    You need to have a backup. ALL drives fail. Not a matter of if, but when.
     
  9. maril1111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    My previous drive was 320gb and its because we have a huge aperture and itunes library and we would like to keep them on the same drive :). Also because we want to 'max' the iMac out with 6gb ram and the harddrive.

    With experience i mean if you have had any Seagate drives?and how did you like them?
     
  10. Badger^2, May 25, 2011
    Last edited: May 25, 2011

    Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #10
    So 10X the space? Why not just add an external USB 2 drive?

    My seagate drives did what they were supposed to do. I still dont understand the question. I dunno how you "like" a drive. Either you plug it in and works or it doesnt?

    Dropping several hundred euros into an almost 4 year old machine probably isnt the best idea if you are a huge Aperture user or if you are using Aperture in a work based enviorment.

    You should think about upgrading -- take the money you are about to spend on RAM and super expensive 3TB drive and combine it with the money you get from selling your current iMac -- even the basic iMac would be a huge step up.
     

Share This Page