iMac 2007 users, Quick question!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Frommel, Sep 26, 2007.

  1. Frommel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #1
    Hi, I got an beautiful 24" iMac witch after the 1.1 firmware update frequently crashes, 3 till 7 times a day.
    and I get those weird display problems! artifacts or static lines in bootcamp with xp, (see the pictures)

    so i Just wanna know, how many people have this issue!?
    should i bring it back to a mac store? or has every one this problem after the 1.1 mac update?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #2
    Oh dear.. That Doesnt look good :( But it does look mighty familiar. Just take a look at the Apple discussion forums... http://discussions.apple.com/forum.jspa?forumID=1110&start=0
    You'll find some similar reports from users around these forums too.

    In various places around the net, including the Apple forums, you'll find instructions to roll back to the 1.0 update, as the 1.1 update caused problems for many. However, my iMac was bad with either update.


    You might also want to try a pram & nvram reset.

    Failing that, get onto AppleCare..
     
  3. Frommel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #3
    thanks for your answer!

    what is a pram & nvram reset?
    and how can i do that?
     
  4. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #4
    Here you go.. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=2238
    I hope it helps, but I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't, unfortunately.
    If you want to try reverting back to the iMac updater v1.0 arrangement, then you'll want to try this (taken from the Apple discussion forums)

    Download the 1.0 update from: http://www.fileavenue.net/index.php?...s&cat=1&pl=mac
    Download Pacifist if you do not yet have it installed: http://www.charlessoft.com/
    Drag the update package onto pacifist. Select the root named: Contents of iMacSoftwareUpdate1.0.pkg. Press install.
    It will override all files that have been updated with 1.1.

    I've not tried this myself mind (I just sent the entire thing back) But again, if this doesn't work for you, then you need to get on to AppleCare about it.

    Keep us informed!
     
  5. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #5
    Yeesh... how common is this problem? I understand that the 1.1 update is required to play WoW properly on the new iMacs. Mine is arriving early next week...

    :eek::confused::eek::confused:
     
  6. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #6
    It's not very common, it just appears to be because of the posters on this forum. My iMac has performed beautifully before and after the update. I have not had one crash or slow down or any video artifacts or display issues. Some updates don't always work well with the current software people have installed on their computers which can result in weird issues. There are many of us that don't exude any issues.

    Here's what I recommend for anyone with issues after the update:

    Do a complete reformat and install.
    Don't install any non-Apple software.
    Download and install all updates including the 1.1 update.
    Run the computer for a while and give it a hard test to see if crashes or screen issues occur.
    If everything looks good then begin installing extra software.
    If it begins to crash you'll know what software is causing it.

    Two other recommendations:

    After the reformat don't do migration. Just install software individually.
    After reformat just choose not to install the 1.1 update.

    Rolling back to the old update doesn't really work because hidden files on the iMac still exist and can still cause issues.

    Only a small amount of people are having this issue. People with good experiences generally don't post and that's a much bigger percentage over the people that do.
     
  7. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #7
    Yeah I was wondering - if it was a problem for everyone it would be a major issue and Apple would have fixed it.

    Ok, will see what happens next week when my machine arrives. Then again, I can probably wait a month until Leopard is out...
     
  8. Frommel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #8
    thx for all the help!

    I did reset the pram and nvram
    that didn't help.

    Then i re-installed everything again + updates because, if other people don't have problems after the update then its hardware related..

    But again nothing helped, it still was crashing and sometimes it crashes before i was in OS X..

    So i brought it today to the mac store, and the hopefully gonna fix the problem. :)
     
  9. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #9
    Good, please post back and let us know how it worked out at Apple.
     
  10. Frommel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #10
    So finally I have my iMac back!!
    The problem with many users of the new AL iMac is that there are some malfunction video cards in it, bad video ram or something..
    thats the story i heard..

    but anyway they replaced my video card!
    and that fixed the hole freezing problem! no more static lines in games, no more freezes in Windows or OS X!

    thanks for all the help!
    If I have any trouble again I will posted it.
    I am very happy again! :)
     
  11. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #11
    I'm glad to hear you got it sorted. I was going to suggest that your symptoms sounded very much like those I experienced on my old 20" Core Duo. I got the same video artifacting, weird lines and frequent lockups and Apple ended up replacing the logic board. For repairs the GPU and logic board are apparently considered one part and they just replace the whole thing. I think it may have actually just been an overheating graphics card that had worked partially free of its slot.

    Enjoy your new iMac and don't forget to get Applecare before the limited warranty is over. I kept putting it off and forgot to buy it for my Core Duo and it was 6 weeks out of the limited warranty when it went kablooie. Instead of a free repair it cost me $450. :eek:
     
  12. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #12
    Same here, my iMac has been rock solid since day one.
     

Share This Page