iMac 2008 with OS X Yosemite!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by slayerizer, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Everything is running fast, it works really well.I like it a lot.
     
  2. SolarShane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    #2
    Thanks! I have an iMac 8,1 as well. Looking to upgrade this fall.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Any annoying bug so far?
     
  4. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    That's good news! It's like a new computer all over again aye :D
     
  5. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    for me, once the desktop is loaded, it's a lot faster then Mavericks.

    Broken things:
    - feedback assistant
    - iMovie

    Buggy things
    - iBooks
    - iTunes store in iTunes

    Missing features:
    - disable the notification for a day (in the notification panel)

    a lot of GUI elements are really rough.. The dock icons are not pretty and some notifications widgets are just ugly. It was the same for iOs7 at the time, so should get better with time.

    I don't recommend it if you have one Mac. I didn't test Time Machine yet.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Thanks for the details reply. I think I won't join the DP1 at this moment. But most likely will install the beta tester version later on.
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    That's good to hear. I also have a 2008 iMac, along with a 2010 iMac. I wondered how well it would run on the older C2D machines.
     
  8. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #8
    Do you have continuity? I thought it required Bluetooth 4.0 so please let me know!
     
  9. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I totally refuse to update my ipad or iphone at this time, so I think I cannot test that. I don't know if it is suppose to work with the current iOs7 release. If it is, it doesn't work.
     
  10. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #10
    No it's iOS8 only, thanks anyway though.
     
  11. MacPC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #11
    I have been using Yosemite on my 2008 24" iMac for two days now, I love it and haven't experienced any bug yet. :)

    ----------

    Runs very on my 2008 24" iMac. :)
     
  12. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    Sleep doesn't work on mine.. After a few days I must do a full restart of the machine because the title bar gets all blurry. After a restart, it's fine.

    I found at least 30 bad things. I wished I would have waited a few releases...

    :D:rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  13. SolarShane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    #13
    You can always partition, you know ;)
     
  14. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I have a hackintosh for development (i7-3770k,16gb,gtx680). I didn't see a need to partition since I can use both. I used my iMac most of the time, waiting for the next refresh.

    :D
     
  15. jg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Oh the irony!
     
  16. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    yeah.. it would have been the most useful application.
     
  17. slayerizer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    I could hardly resist.. I updated my ipad (3,1) and iphone 5 to ios8. Continuity didn't work with this mac. It also didn't work between the ipad and my iphone.

    :(
     
  18. krisdcrus21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #18
    I also have an 08 iMac, i have upgraded the hdd to a ssd but still only have 2GB of Ram, do you think that will cut it for Yosemite? It runs really well on Mavericks btw.
     
  19. MetalMac macrumors member

    MetalMac

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Tijuana, MEX
    #19
    I just hope it runs on my 2007 aluminum imac so I can give it another year living on the bleeding edge :D
     

Share This Page