iMac 2010 SSD Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Goose!, May 22, 2012.

  1. Goose! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #1
    Ok, I'm looking to go SSD finally, pretty much think I am gonna go with Crucial, the M4 256GB one and 8GB of Ram(2 sticks of 4GB) to push my machine to another level on both ends.

    I know there are tutorials about, but I just want to make I'm pointed in the right direction for the correct one for my machine and stuff, I'm only going to replace the 1TB that's in there rather than have 2, seems easier and I'd prefer to have all the stuff that'd be on 1TB available to other machines easily too, so putting that in a external case makes most sense really.

    So would I have to buy a bracket separately or does Crucial provide if you buy from them? Do I even need a bracket if I'm replacing and not going with both?
     
  2. New Apple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Kristinestad
    #2

    all i readed was that on the 1tb HD that comes with your imac, Apple added inside some special check so that if you change it (your one and only system hd) it's gonna spoil your fan... (max speed-noise)

    the safest seems to don't touch the 1tb os HD and ADD the SSD (keeping the ODD)
     
  3. TopB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #3
    I installed the same SSD in my 2010, 27inch, 2.8ghz I5. I am happy with it, just make sure you update the firmware to the latest version before install.

    I left my 1TB HDD in the machine. You can remove the drive but you will have to use a software program to control the fan speeds.
     
  4. Slow Programmer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    I changed out my my 1TB drive for a 256GB SSD a couple of months ago. I used a Samsung 830 SSD. The SSD I purchased came with a 3.5 inch adapter which fits in the place of the current hard drive perfectly ( just reuse the screws holding the current HD on the adaptor). The only issue I had was the screw holes to attach the SSD to the adaptor were not were I needed them. I just used Velcro tape to attach it. The current HD has a two wire temperature line going to it. I spent way to much money to buy the exact part apple uses to short the temperature sensor.

    http://www.applecomponents.com/items/922-9628_cable-jumper-hdd-temp-sensor/0000004777?pn=1&cmp=0172&per_page=30

    I am happy with the jumper, but all it does is short the line. Most people just place a piece of wire across the end of the temperature line which works as well.

    Great update and I have had no issues. Much quieter with the SSD than with my old drive.
     
  5. LushMojo macrumors regular

    LushMojo

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #5
    Any pics of exactly where to place that jumper? And does that mean you don't have to use smcFanControl once the jumper is in place?
     
  6. Slow Programmer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #6
    You will not need fan control. I don't have any pictures, but if you trace the heat sensor line from the hard drive back to the motherboard that is were the jumper plugs in (on the motherboard). It is not hidden and is easy to get to. Just unplug the heat senor line and plug the jumper back into the same place on the motherboard.
     

Share This Page