iMac 2011 now i can add ssd.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by alienatf, May 25, 2011.

  1. alienatf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #1
    Hi everyone.

    I've bought iMac i7 3.4 without SSD and now wanna add crucial m4 ssd, which are really fast.

    I've already teared down imac, and found that there is new cables, i think it's called "microsata".

    So, what cables i should by, so i can put SSD drive into my iMac.
     
  2. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    The article does state there is no problem with adding a drive, just in replacing the existing one.

    I don't know if it's exactly what you need, but Google "microsata to sata adapter".
     
  3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
  4. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Isn't it enough to want one Badge?
     
  5. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #6
    Why does someone need to justify wanting awesome boot and app launch speed?
     
  6. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #7
    As you can see, OP here was able and willing to tear down his iMac .. well, each to his own I guess, but add another SSD wont hurt, right?

    We may don´t want Apple offering with SSD, but for everyone else out there who wants to install cheaper/smaller/better performance SSD .. well I must admit I envy them
     
  7. ChargedPC macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #8
    The cable is actually a Slimline SATA connector and we wrote a little post on how to connect the SSD to the back of the motherboard here
     
  8. ecstacy2012 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #9
    hey charged pc why this new method when you have the y spilter to sata for the power and extra data sata cable from sata port 1 to other ssd?? also did you find in your doing it that way that the ssd doesn't show up from running osx disk? as the owc 6g ssd's don't show up either in disk utility or when installing osx from disk did you check this? please let me know as i have dual ssd's working in mine without any fan problems or anything else but I need to fix this to be able to raid 0 them. thanks
     
  9. ChargedPC macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #10
    Great question! The reason we prefer this method is that if you use the y-splitter cable, the hard drive temperature sensor isn't getting the proper information. While it may not cause the fans to rev, we've had instances where it causes the system to read the HD temperature in the 120s. Therefore having a dedicated power line for the SSD, there is no interference with the main HDs power cable, and thus its temperature readings.

    All in all though, the y-splitter will do the job just fine if that's all you have.

    Since we take out the original hard drive and clone it on a separate computer to the SSD, we haven't been in a situation where we boot into the OS X disk. Will check on the disk utility issue when we get a chance...
     
  10. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #11
    Yes!!! I've done.

    As described near topic, just buy y-sata power slitter and satsa data cable and that's enought.
    [​IMG]
    But i have to spend much more time. iMac 2010 - simply change power cable and plug data cable.
    New imac - i have to take off logic board.

    BUT!!! i think there must be new data+power cable specially for SSD.

    i think 1-2 months and problem will have pretty solution.

    Sorry for my english (i'm russian)
     
  11. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #12
    Reading your answers on other posts, I think that you probably think: "Wow, if apple engineers put an HDD on their iMac, why the **** someone want to put an SSD on it?" Right?

    SSD are better than HHDs. MUCH better.
     
  12. alienatf, May 26, 2011
    Last edited: May 26, 2011

    alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #13
    So what i'm try to tell.

    There is 3 sata ports on logic board:
    1) Non standart power + data cable - for HDD
    2) sata data + micro sata power - for DVD
    3) sata data + micro sata power - for SSD

    But, y-splitter use power from №1 and i think it can be bomb in future: apple could release new firmware that limits power for №1 power port, so SSD will not work because of lower power.

    Pretty solution:
    power + data cable
    #1 side (plug into logic board) must look like this:
    (Slimline Sata Power + Sata Data)
    [​IMG] + [​IMG]

    #2 side (plug into ssd drive) must look like this
    (Sata Power + Sata Data)

    [​IMG] + [​IMG]
     
  13. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
  14. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #15
    Oh, really ?!?!

    And how should i plug it into logic board

    [​IMG]
     
  15. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #16
    Hmm, so it's a Slim sata (6 + 7 pin).

    Pick a slim sata male (13pin) to sata male adapter.

    Or a slim sata male cable + adapter.
     
  16. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #17
    Can you give me link for that products so i can buy it ?

    I've explored lot of sites and didn't find me cable that i need. Thanks.
     
  17. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

Share This Page