iMac 2011 - SSD in place - what's next?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AliceDK, May 17, 2015.

1. AliceDK macrumors newbie

Hi guys and girls, Alice here.

I'm a fashion designer student who recently just upgraded her iMac 21.5" (Mid 2011) with a Samsung EVO 850 SSD as a 2nd HD - yay! :D

Originally, I intended to buy a new iMac but I had to prioritize so I opted for a new MacBook instead as I also work 'on the go'. Also, my iMac is still running smoothly - with the exception that the mechanical HD is its bottleneck - so I couldn't really justify buying an entirely new machine (they're also SO expensive here in Denmark!). :)

So, the SSD is installed and formatted, OSX sees the drive and it's right there on the desktop. Now, my goal is to wipe everything from the original HD - after making a back-up - and then start from scratch with the SSD as boot volume.

It should be noted that I only want to back-up certain files - not to create an exact "image" of the original HD. My iMac came with Lion and I want a clean install of Mavericks (or maybe Yosemite).

My question is, how do I manage to do that?

Thanks in advance. Have a lovely day. :)

Alice.

2. Bruno09, May 17, 2015
    Last edited: May 17, 2015

Bruno09 macrumors 68020

Hi Alice,

this is easy to do :

1. backup your current HD (make a clone)

2. from the App Store, download Mavericks (Purchases tab, if you already "bought" it), or Yosemite if you never bought Mavericks (no longer available)

3. install the OS, select the SSD as destination disk for the installation

You will then be able to :
    - select the SSD as boot disk (System Preferences / Startup Disk)
    - move what you want from the HD to the SSD
    - wipe your HD if you wish

Please note that :
    - Yosemite runs better with more than 4 GB of RAM