iMac 2011 - You cannot use an Apple USB modem with this computer

Discussion in 'iMac' started by likegadgets, May 13, 2011.

  1. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #1
    I got a 2011 iMac (27", 3.4 i7). I moved from a 2010 model of iMac.
    I have an Apple USB modem I use for faxing.

    It appears that the 2011 is incompatible with the Apple USB modem

    When I plug it in - I get a message:
    "You cannot use an Apple USB modem with this computer"

    Anyone else? Any one knows of a compatible modem?

    Thanks
     
  2. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    quote Apple: "The Apple USB modem requires Mac OS X v10.4.3 or later running in 32 bit mode"

    I think the new iMac runs natively in 64bit mode, so you have to boot it into 32bit mode to get it working.
     
  3. likegadgets thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #3
    Thanks. Question: Was the late 2010 not running natively in 64bit mode as well? I no longer have it to check - but I recall it was running 64bit and worked.

    I prefer to locate a modem that will work in 64 bit than have to boot into 32
     
  4. likegadgets thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #4
    You nailed it - booted into 32bit mode (by holding the 3&2 Keys) and it worked.

    I will test a ZOOM modem that Best Buy sells locally

    Thanks for pointing this out
     
  5. Georgio macrumors 6502

    Georgio

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #5
    You still use fax lol.
    my boss who is also a techno dinosaur referrs to e- mail as 'colour fax'
    we laugh at him as well...:D
     
  6. Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    My telegraph attachment don't work anymore either. :(
     
  7. likegadgets thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #7
    In International Business some customers still request faxes rather than PDF - so I need the ability to this. It is used less and less - but still used
     
  8. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Fax still had its uses.

    I'm gonna test a USR 56k modem in the next week or so. Hopefully one that doesn't require stupid modem scripts just to work the odd time I'd use it.
     
  9. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #9
    Interesting... does the new iMac actually boot the 64bit kernel by default?
    Except for the Mac Pro, all previous machines used the 32bit kernel as standard (with 64bit userspace, though).
     
  10. likegadgets thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #10
    Apparently they do. The 2011 , 27" 3.4Ghz I got does.

    I picked up at Best Buy a $49 ZOOM USB modem. So far working OK with Page Sender - the fax software I use. The iMac had no problem using this one with the 64bit Kernel
     
  11. Polexzc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #11
    My apple usb modem doesn't work on my 2011 iMac also, how did you find an usb modem working on it? what's brand & model?

    Thanks
     
  12. johnd39 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire, Scotland
    #12
    Fax modem

    My bank insists on faxed instructions for CHAPS or international payments for security reasons so I also need a modem that will work in 64bit. Please would anyone who finds one that will work in the UK, post the info here.
     
  13. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #13
    Most medical offices I'm dealing with won't allow patients/parents to email them for some things...like medical release forms. They have to use their form so they need to fax it to me, then they must have it faxed back. Then they fax the records to wherever I tell them too....

    I'd love to be able to email them back and forth. I own a fax machine... Just don't have a phone line to use with it.
     
  14. MacAndMic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    #14
    You could use a faxing service. I use myfax, costs $10 a month with your own dedicated phone number. If you have a dedicated fax line, you would save money every month. If you do not have a dedicated fax line then you really dont need faxing except the rare occasion which there are faxing services out there for that type of use even cheaper.

    I still have a few customers that fax (construction industry) and refuse to adopt even email. I scratch my head often but as long as they pay my fees I'm happy.
     
  15. Eduardo1971 macrumors 65816

    Eduardo1971

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Lost Angeles, Ca. usa
    #15
    Oh my gosh- a 56k USR modem/fax? That brings back (frustrating) memories trying to get this to work under Windows 3.1 and DOS 6.0. Boy, I don't miss those days.

    Now I'm remembering my 1200bps modem for my Commodore 64c-ah, how I loved my Commodore 64c!:)

    Enought nostalgia for today...
     

Share This Page