iMac 2013 ram question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Serban, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #1
    i just bought an iMac 27" with standard 8 GB ram and at my reseller i got a free upgrade to 12 GB ram, but if i go at about this mac..i see 12 Gb Ram but at 1333 Mhz DDR3...so i guess that extra 4 Gb ram runs at maximum 1333?

    If so what is better until i go at 32 Gb ram next year, 8 Gb Ram at 1600Mhz or 12 Gb ram at 1333Mhz ?
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    Just to be safe, you should be buying an Apple OEM-brand RAM, like Samsung, Hynix or Elpida.

    As long as they're 1600mHz DDR3 (not DDR3L mind you), you should be fine.

    Edit: It's also best if all are 1600mHz. No sense in risking yourself of slotting in RAM with different speeds/speeds that are higher/lower than stock.
     
  3. IA64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #4


    If it's a late iMac ( Haswell ) it should be DDR3L not DDR3.
     
  4. Serban thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  5. yjchua95, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Nope it's not. It's just plain old DDR3. The Haswell rMBPs are the ones that use DDR3L.

    Please check your facts at store.apple.com

    ----------

    Late 2013s are Haswells. They DO NOT SUPPORT DDR3L.

    Dacă utilizaţi DDR3L, puteţi deteriora la logic board.

    Apple va anula garanţia, dacă utilizaţi RAM care este diferit de ceea ce se menţionează în manualul de instrucţiuni.
     
  6. IA64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #7
    Pardon me but you are totally wrong...

    All late iMacs 2013 are shipped with 1.35 volts CL11 RAMs. Your best bet is searching this forum and checking the user feedback, or, get the machine and check the RAMs.
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    Pardon me, but you're also wrong. Go to store.apple.com and select an iMac. Then view the RAM options when customizing it. You will see that it states DDR3.

    Now do the same for the 13" rMBP. You will see that it states DDR3L.
     
  8. IA64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #9
    Dude... DO YOU HAVE THE MACHINE ? I HAVE IT AND THE 32GB RAMS ARE RATED AT 1.35Volts

    Just because Apple has not mentioned it doesn't mean they aren't using it. Haswell works with 1.35V. It's the norm today.

    Do yourself a favor and check Crucial, OCZ and Kingston late 2013 Mac compatible RAM specs... THEY WRITE IT IN BOLD THAT PLEASE USE THE 1.35V with the late 2013 generation.

    You do whatever you want anyway. It's your machine.
     
  9. yjchua95, Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/snuigd3uxyhms95/Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 18.51.13.png

    This is for my Haswell iMac. DDR3, it states. I can't upload attachments because MacRumors is preventing me from doing so.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/3lnbsjkg7ud6zo1/Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 18.33.22.png
    See for yourself. It's DDR3.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/q6h90ysv4a624s8/Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 18.34.17.png
    This is DDR3L.

    ----------

    I have the machine, and I shall prove you wrong. Look in the links I just submitted.

    And besides, I'm offering him advice that will not void his warranty. You know how Apple is like. If you use something that's other than what's stated in the instruction manual, you're screwed.

    Sure, Kingston, Crucial and they all will write that it's compatible. But does Apple sanction it? As the OP said in an earlier reply, with a link to an Apple support article, the article only says DDR3. By all means, you may use DDR3L, but at your own risk of voiding the warranty, because it's not sanctioned by Apple.
     
  10. IA64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    #11
    Still following Apple website blindly. PLease don't say to anyone that Haswell in the iMac late 2013 does not support DDR3L... It's Intel who decides not Apple you know...

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1600DDR3S32S/


    http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac (27-inch, Late 2013))

    http://www.kingston.com/en/memory/search?DeviceType=2&Mfr=APP&Line=iMac Intel Core i5/i7&Model=85755



    1.35v

    Ok ? thank you.

    This discussion is over at least to me.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    Okay, you win this round. And when Apple voids the warranty, I won't comment then. Proceed at your own risk.
     

Share This Page