iMac - 20inch vs 24inch

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by explicitluser, Apr 1, 2009.

1. explicitluser macrumors newbie

I have read all the posts and reviews saying the 24inch is far better than the 20inch, for a multitude of reasons.

I am a student, and I can get a 24inch iMac from the Education store with everything I want (printer, applecare etc) for £1212 - on top of that I'd need to add MS Office 2008 and a decent external HDD. I can get the 20inch iMac for £850, then I'd need to add all of the extras on (excluding external HDD) - it would only come to about £1000 (or thereabouts).

Is this worth it, or should I just go for the 24inch. Does anyone have experience with both? My iMac would be used for all my school work, watching DVDs and online movies. Some video editing would occur, and work with photos.

Thanks for any replies.

2. ditzy macrumors 68000

ditzy

The 20" has a lower quality screen, most don't notice the difference though. Also as I'm sure you know the 24" has a bigger hard drive, and more RAM. Only you can decide if the extra money would have more value in your pocket or being spent on the iMac. I'd buy the 24" I think that it is worth it. But the 20" is a great computer too.

3. kvasir macrumors regular

I'm in the same quandary myself. For what you're doing, either one would be great. If you get the 20" and run out of hard drive space, there's always Firewire 800 external drives, or tutorials on how to take your iMac apart to replace the hard drive.