iMac 21,5"/27" support for 1GB RAM modules?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by G4-power, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. G4-power macrumors 6502

    G4-power

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vaasa, Finland
    #1
    Hi

    Has anyone tried fitting 1GB RAM modules in a new "late 2009" 21,5"/27" iMac? I know this might sound silly to do, but I have two 1GB modules from my MBP which are techincally the same type as those used in the new iMacs (DDR3-1066-SO-DIMM). So if I were to get a new iMac will I be able to put my 1GB modules in it for an added 2GB of RAM (4GB+2GB)?

    The reason why I'm hesitating on "just trying it out" is Apple's User's Manual, which insists on using either 2GB or 4GB modules, possibly because that's what they offer, but can't know for sure if they've restricted the module size somehow.

    "Your iMac comes with at least 4 gigabytes (GB) of Double Data Rate 3 (DDR3) Dynamic Random Access memory (DRAM) installed as two 2 GB memory modules. You can replace or install additional 2 GB or 4 GB memory modules for up to a maximum of 16 GB." -page 36

    iMac User's Manual (pdf)
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    I can't see why they wouldn't work because they use the same type of RAM and amount of it doesn't change the story. You have nothing to lose if you try it :cool:
     
  3. G4-power thread starter macrumors 6502

    G4-power

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vaasa, Finland
    #3
    Yeah, just thought if I could get any confirmation on my idea. Maybe I'll just have to try, whenever I end up actually buying an iMac. I'll post if anything weird occurs. :D Probably not...
     
  4. iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #4
    Well consider your idea confirmed. I used two 1 GB sticks from my early 2009 imac that I had left over and put them in my new 21.5. Works like a charm. :)


    Not much difference between 6GB or 8GB in performance if any at all. I figured to wait until the 4GB sticks get cheaper and upgrade at a later date when the OS can take advantage of the extra GB's.
     
  5. G4-power thread starter macrumors 6502

    G4-power

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vaasa, Finland
    #5
    Thanks! That's what I thought too, 6 GB is always better than 4 GB, but not much inferior to 8 GB. And now that I have two spare 1 GB sticks, it's a cheap upgrade compared to buying two 2 GB sticks, for ~85€. Not to mention 4 GB sticks, which are way beyond most people's budget.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    OS X already can, up to 16TB :p But there aren't many apps that can utilize over 4GB
     

Share This Page