iMac 21.5 late 2015 MK1421 A1418 model error PF006

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mikercana1, Apr 30, 2017.

?

Imac 21.5 late 2015 MK1421 A1418 model error PF006

  1. Istat Menus help

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. SMCfanControl help

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Imac MK1421 A1418 help

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. mikercana1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #1
    I have this newer Imac 2015 MK1421 A1418 model
    It suffers from a Kernel task overload, from what I gather when there is an issues with the SMC reporting, the OSX kernel runs overload and fans go full blast.
    I ran the AHT and it reports error PF006 which is an issue with SMC and more than likely a sensor.
    I installed SMCfanControl and it reports the temperature to 130C
    I have also installed a legit Istat Menus and all of the temperature are reported just fine no thermal overload

    I think that there is a difference about these 2 programs of where they get the temperature reports from?

    I suspect a temperature sensor, probably the one attached to the LCD unit. I believe that at some point this sensor used to be attached to the chassis and hooked up to the mainboard.

    If you have seen this issue with the temperature being reported differently between SMCfan Control and Istat Menus, please any help appreciated

    If you have encountered this PF006 on the same Imac and found the problem, I would appreciate any help

    I am a technologist and can repair just about anything with a diagram and some guidance
    Mike
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2017 ---
    I just realized that AHT reports error PFM006 and not PF006
     
  2. mikercana1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #2
    I just figured out that the box says MK142LL but it is actually a late 2013 ME086 model
    Still the same issue PFM006 and Istat Menus and SMCFan Control reports temperature differently, Fancontrol says 130 degrees Celsius.
     
  3. Lycos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    #3
    Hi mikercana1,
    just came across your case while looking around for a proper solution of exactly the same problem.
    Could your fix it? I also own an Imac A1418, but late 2013 (21,5").

    Unfortunately replacing the LCD temperature sensor didn't work :/
    Is there maybe some new information you could gain in the meantime?
    My assumption would be a broken temperature sensor somewhere located on the logicboard. In my case iStat Pro doesn't show the ambient temp, all other temps are fine. Btw. I also do get 130°C in SMC, maybe this is the highest temp the program is able to show and due to the missing information from the ambient sensor...

    Looking forward to your reply. Maybe we can sort this out.
    Cheers.
     

Share This Page