iMac 21.5 (Mid 2011 model) RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rrawat02, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. rrawat02 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    My iMac came with 4 GB RAM (2GB X 2) installed. My iMac has 4 slots and I'm currently using 2.

    On crucial.com they claim I can leave in original 4 GB RAM and add two more 8 GB RAMs in the available slots. The final configuration will be--

    2 GB, 2 GB
    8 GB, 8 GB

    Total of 20 GB of RAM.

    Questions--

    1: Apple.com claims the highest possible RAM for my iMac is 16 GB. Should I follow this recommendation and ignore crucial.com?
    2: The apple.com website says, "For the iMac (Mid 2010) and iMac (Mid 2011) models, use 2 GB or 4 GB RAM SO-DIMMs of 1333 MHz DDR3 SDRAM in each slot." They don't talk about 8 GB RAM option. Comments?
    3: I heard it was preferable to have identical RAM for each slot. Thoughts on that?

    Thanks!

    Rishi
     
  2. Beaverman3001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #2
    I have a mid 2011 21.5in iMac with 20GB RAM right now (2x2x8x8) just like you are looking at, works fine. Apple only lists the amount they sell as the max for their computers.
     
  3. rrawat02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
  4. TrboMac macrumors regular

    TrboMac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    NC/USA
    #4
    You can go up to 32GB of RAM on our model. I'm wanting to upgrade to at least 24 this year myself.
     
  5. toddzrx macrumors 6502a

    toddzrx

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #5
    How much RAM do you really think you need? I would start with that question.

    For what it's worth, I found a guy selling stock Apple RAM on Craigslist in my area: 2X2GB sticks for $20. I put those in my 2010 iMac, bumping it from 4 to 8GB, and the improved performance was small but noticeable (even after putting an SSD inside). So, modest upgrade for very little expense. At least in my case, I could go up to 16GB, but why? I have no need for that kind of performance. I'll wait for another couple of years when I need the performance, but the RAM is cheaper, to go above 8.
     
  6. RichMilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    #6
    Oldish thread I know, but just confirming that I have the same model iMac with 32gb RAM installed, so yes you definitely can do it.

    It is a bit odd that Apple state 16gb as the max. It would be interesting to put four 16gb modules in just to see what happens.

    >> How much RAM do you really think you need? I would start with that question.

    As much as I can get. Trying running Photoshop, Premier and After Effects for an hour to see why!
     
  7. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #7
    When Apple released the 2011 iMac, 8GB memory modules were rather hard to get ahold of. This is why they limited it to 16GB (4x4GB).

    The hardware in the machine would not see 16GB memory modules properly. It would other cap them at 8GB each or not work at all.
     
  8. dogslobber macrumors 68020

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #8
    Yep, I've been running with 24gb for a few years now. Great machines are these computers. Even got one for my wife!
     

Share This Page