iMac 21.5" + netbook vs Macbook pro 13" + acd vs Macbook pro 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by eninety88, Oct 29, 2009.

1. eninety88 macrumors newbie

ahh decisions decisions. So i need all of your help picking between the three options!

I am selling my unibody macbook just because i need something with an SD card slot for photos because its getting pretty tiresome losing a usb for an adapter.
    I have an ACD 20" already and thats not going anywhere, and i have my laptop 320gb 7200rpm hdd and 4gb ddr3 ram laying around, so here are my options:

1. mid level 21.5" imac (4gb standard plus my 4gb = 8gb /drool) + a netbook (eee pc or acer aspire one)

2. MBP 13" 2.26ghz base model (cheapest option because i already have all the upgrades)

3. MBP 15" 2.53ghz base model.

I am a student, i do play some games: WoW, WC3, L4D, etc. nothing too crazy. i am a comp sci major and do work for a tech blog so multitasking is definitely a must. HELP!!

2. MacKiddyWiddy macrumors 6502

I would get the imac but not a netbook, instead save for a refurb mb... If you desperately need the portability and want a bit of power then go with the 15 although i do believe the 13.3 will be good enough for you[​IMG] but yeah if you can afford it, imac and then a refurb 13.3 macbook. Mind you just botcied you have an acd so if u got a refurb 15 and an external keyboars and mouse, you'll getthe best of both worlds. DO NOT get a netbook though, if you are anything like me, they will just frustrate you

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Wirelessly posted (Nokia 5800 Tube XpressMusic : Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.4; U; Series60/5.0 Nokia5800d-1/21.0.101; Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 ) AppleWebKit/413 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/413)

You'd consider getting another 13" unibody MB because the new one 'MBP' ones have an SD card? That's a lot of money to pay for a slot, no?

Personally, I'd just go for the 15" MBP unless I wanted the portability.