iMac 24 2008: installation froze and throw garbage display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by necromac, Apr 27, 2016.

  1. necromac macrumors newbie

    necromac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hello,

    I bought a used iMac 24 2008. I thought it was just a HDD issue because it does chime, it does show apple logo and it has clear display. But when I did the installation, it does progress but at some point, around 70% it just display garbage. (please see attachment.)

    anyone can help me on this? any experience like this? how did you resolve the issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    What is "the installation"?

    It does look like a video driver or more likely a video hardware (GPU) problem.
     
  3. ddmcnair macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #3
    I looked at several iMac 2008 pictures and it appears there is a heat sink beside the memory, DOH! I would try swapping out the memory.
     
  4. necromac thread starter macrumors newbie

    necromac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    @ddmcnair: memory? you mean RAM right? but the RAM are new... HDD is new...

    @CoastalOR: I am suspecting that its the Video card. But it is wierd because before that screenshot, it display fine. i hold the Option button, and let me select my DVDROM or EFI boot USB stick, the display is vivid clear.

    But when i select any mac os x installer (DVD or USB) and when it reach to 70% of loading the installer, it just crash and showing like that on the screenshot.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Yeah, those type of symptoms tend to illustrate a failing GPU, so that would be my guess.
     
  6. necromac thread starter macrumors newbie

    necromac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    hey guess what.. i rework the GPU, working now. yey! hehehe.. thanks guys..
     

Share This Page