iMac 24" -- 3GB RAM max?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by OpenWheelFan, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. OpenWheelFan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #1
    I'm looking at buying a 3.06GHz, 24" iMac. Reading the forums here, I've learned that it's a much better deal to upgrade RAM after purchase, rather than have Apple do it.

    When I googled how to do it, though, I found an Apple support page that seemed to say that the 24" can handle 3GB at most.

    So, two questions: first, did I read that correctly? Even if I put 4 GB in, the iMac can only use 3GB? Second, if that's the case, should I just buy one 2GB stick?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    No, that is not the case. All aluminum iMacs can handle 4 GB of RAM. it was the earlier white iMacs that could only use 3.3 GB of RAM. I think the last white ones could use 4 GB though. And DO NOT get the RAM from Apple, they overcharge for RAM. Make sure that you keep the original RAM though, because Apple may refuse to service the iMac if it doesn't have the original RAM in it.

    Don

    Don
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
  4. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    They shouldn't. RAM, IIRC, is the only user-serviceable part in an imac.
     
  5. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    When I had to take my iMac in to the Genius Bar, the "genius" opened up system profiler, and saw that I had put more RAM in the computer then it really came with. He told me that he would not allow any service on the computer, unless I took it home replaced the original RAM, and then brought it back after 24 hours.

    Don
     
  6. OpenWheelFan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #6
    Thanks!

    To tell the truth, that's why I was confused! Folks here on the forums, as well as in the guides, talk about 4GB; when I got to the "official" Apple how-to guide, though, it said that 24" iMacs were 3GB only! Guess they just need to update their RAM installation page... ;)
     
  7. jazyje macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #7
    Looks like many iMacs won't accept 4GB but will accept 3GB with no issues -- it has something to do with settings on RAM you buy... I've had the same problem.
     

Share This Page