iMac 24" for video editing

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Jamie., Dec 17, 2009.

1. Jamie. macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,
    I'm an ameteur filmmaker and I'm looking into getting a Mac for my highschool graduation.
    I will need to upload and edit video quite often, BUT PRICE IS AN ISSUE. I'm not trying to spend an incredible amount of money. But I do need a comupter that will handle the tasks I need it to perform.

Even though I have filmmaking skills, I'm terrible at understanding computers. Can y'all help me out with how much ram and harddrive space I will need? as well as how to upgrade a graphics card.

Will this be a good option? It has a larger screen and it's cheap. 4gb of ram sounds good to me also.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/608710-REG/Apple_MB418LL_A_24_iMac_Desktop_Computer.html

or this which has a faster processor i believe?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/608712-REG/Apple_MB419LL_A_24_iMac_Desktop_Computer.html

ONE LAST THING, I love the layout of Sony Vegas for editing, but it's a PC based software. So I would have to run Bootcamp in order to run Vegas on a Mac. Is Bootcamp a simple thing to use?

2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants

What video codecs do you use? (i.e., HDV, AVCHD, etc)

Personally I would pick the first one as it has the GT120 graphics and the faster processor. But that, once again, is just me. Are those your only two options?

3. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

MovieCutter

Anything you buy today will be more than adequate. I cut XDCAM HD footage on a 2.0Ghz MacBook Core Duo and never had a problem. And graphics processors don't have an impact on video editing as far as FCP is concerned, not sure about Vegas. And yes, Bootcamp is very simple.

4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

Badger^2

5. Jamie. thread starter macrumors newbie

hmm so these are better? i see they have snow leopard....andthanks.

and i'll be editing standard definition video's and eventually some HDV or AVCHD.