iMac 24" headscratcher of note!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by wingnutz, May 3, 2013.

1. wingnutz macrumors newbie

this could well be the most unanswerable/unsolvable/insurmountable dilemma of the day, but then I'm new to this particular forum so am not aware of the potential genius that lurks herein.

Here's the situation as best I can describe it -

I have the old 24" iMac which has followed me around for a good 7 years I think, I installed Leopard then Snow Leopard and been using boot camp since the very first beta releases to run a Windows Vista 32bit partition. The partitions are more or less equally sized and I use both all the time with some of my design work requiring Windows but Mac OS being my default of course.

The machine has been through a lot but served me flawlessly until about 2 years ago....first to go was the display with a solid hairline appearing vertically and permanently across my screen (still there), next was my disc drive which started spitting written discs out or if it accepted them it would see them as blank discs ready to be written. It got worse to where it now doesn't accept any disc, DVD or CD in either OS no matter what I do.

I might also mention that some time before that I region locked the drive to region 1 which is unfortunately the rarer region code in South Africa.

Then one dark day about a year ago when I booted up into the default startup which was OSX I got the famous spinning globe, I never recovered that despite following several forums' advice step by step but what eventually