Imac 24" Intel core duo BLACK SCREEN

Discussion in 'iMac' started by doobie78, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. doobie78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #1
    Hello,
    For 2 days now myImac 24" Intelcore duo start as usual but the screen remains desesperatly black. When It happened, the mac was switched on and when I came back some hours later, it was shut off.
    I tried everything written on the Apple site and follow all advices : 5 boings for the pram, unplugged, replugg, etc... without any succes.
    The "boing" sound is there, the hard disk start as well and the ventilation too. Everything is working... except the screen.
    I've been on a lot of forums including this one eand I feel a bit lost as solutions seems to be different from a forum to another.
    For some...it's the screen, for others it the graphic card... and for the rest it's the logic board and/or the powerbloc.
    For the last 3 solutions I'm ready to order remplacements and to do it by myself (can take hours but seems to be ok for me), I would like to have a "kind of precis advice" just to be sure to order the correct stuff. and not the logic board if it's only a question of graphic card or the contrary.
    For exemple, the fact that the mac start with the boing indicates that the logic board is not suspected? Am I right?

    Thanck in advance for you advices :)

    To be more precis the mac in under Snow Leopard for months without problems and I did not load any new soft recently.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Why don't you take it to Apple so they'll make an observation what's wrong and then ignore their offer to fix it and do it yourself? It's imposible to say what's wrong as it could be the screen, GPU, logic....
     
  3. doobie78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #3
    Well there is heavy snow on Paris at this moment then I'm not really close to an Apple repair center. But in a few days if I cannot find any helpfull advice on forums... I will go there. Of course.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I understand, it's even snowier here in Finland but we are used to that. I doubt anyone can give you a 100% correct answer as it's imposible to say what's wrong. You don't want to buy a logic board for 500$ and then find out that logic was fully working but the screen is broken, don't you? ;) They'll probably do the observation for free as they hope you'll get it repaired at them too.
     
  5. doobie78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #5
    You got the point. I want to be SURE of what I will have to replace.
    Will let you know the end of the story :)
     
  6. doobie78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #6
    I connected a second screen and... the graphic card is working.
    So now I'm sure that it's the display which is out of order.
     
  7. doobie78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #7
    So I changed the screen and everything is working now. End of the story.
    Thanks for your help.:)
     

Share This Page