iMac 24" Intel Display/ Video card + Kernel panic problem!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheAppFinder, May 11, 2010.

  1. TheAppFinder, May 11, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011

    TheAppFinder macrumors newbie

    TheAppFinder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi, so today i got a 24" Al iMac, Mid- 2008 model, and i'v had a few problems with it. First of all when i first booted it and played around with finder (as in looked at the apps etc) then it froze, and the screen showed some black and a few colours and the finder window wasnt moving, but my mouse was. so i tried to relanch finder. but nothing happend. so i restarted the imac by holding down the power button. This is pretty much what it was doing for the first few hours I had it. You lanched an app then it works good for about 5 minutes then the mac gliches, and I have to restart it.

    After i manged to update the software ( latest itunes/ mac os x 10.6.3 ect) , hit the F12 key and whent to dashboard, it froze then i did restarted the mac. but instead it gave me a bunch of vertical lines on the screen during the boot up (showing the apple logo), then it went to the desktop, but the whole screen was very bad. All the colours were not what they were sopposed to be, and it was frozen. so i restared it again, it still gave me the verticle lines and then... a kernel panic. i restared again, same thing. kernal panic.

    So my question is is this a video card/ logic board problem? or is it a mac os x problem?

    The specs are: 3.06 GHz Core 2 Duo
    2 gb ram
    500 gb hdd
    nvidia geforce 8800 gs 512mb gddr3 sdram
    10.6.3 snow leopard.

    **I got a new iMac as a replacement from apple. Thanks Apple! :)**
     
  2. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    1. Boot up from the OS X DVD and perform a full disk repair.
    2. Wipe and install OS X from scratch.
     
  3. TheAppFinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheAppFinder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #3
    Thanks SO much! But do I have to use the grey restore disks, that came with it (which i don't have :p) or can i just use a snow leopard retail dvd? Thanks again !!
     

Share This Page