Imac 24" RAM.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by paulg1979, May 12, 2007.

  1. paulg1979 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    Just upgraded my 24" RAM to 2 x 1GB crucial RAM sticks. Is it worth selling the 2 512 sticks? Will they fit in any other imacs other than the 24" as I don't think its worth selling unless they fit in other macs.

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  2. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #2
    Don't sell them. If you have problems with your mac (knock on wood), you may want to put the original ram back.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Yes, it will work in other intel iMacs (and even many PCs).
     
  4. paulg1979 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #4
    Thats a result. So I can put in the desciption that they will fit in 17", 20" and 24" iMacs?

    Is it really worth keeping. Whats the chances of the crucials giving up the ghost? Is it a common problem?
     
  5. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #5
    It's more a case of holding on to your original RAM for if you have to send the machine to Apple for repair under warranty. They may not like the fact that third party RAM is installed. In reality, unless it's a RAM specific problem, they shouldn't care, but it's your call.
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    To expand on your point as you said they generally don't care. But Kernel Panics and other machine problems can be the RAM or something else, so it's worth keeping the original RAM.
     
  7. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #7
    I've never kept RAM from a new machine I've upgraded, I want some money back!

    I say sell them instead of keeping them, but let the system run with the new RAM for a little while then sell them.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    No, they will fit in 17", 20" and 24" intel CoreDuo and Core2Duo iMacs only. They will not fit into any of the 17" or 20" G5 iMacs.

    However they will also fit into intel Minis, MacBook Pros and MacBooks.

    And also, they will probably work in the final Powerbook G4 1.67 GHz DL Superdrive/HD screen model. It takes DDR2-533 SODIMMs but the 667's you have will likely clock down to 533 OK.

    The challenge with selling them of course is that everybody is in the same boat as you are, machine came with 512 Mb SODIMMs, and they have to come out to put in 1 Gb's. The only buyer would be someone with a machine that shipped 1 x 512, or 2 x 256 and they only want to go to 1 Gb total.
     
  9. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #9
    It should fit into the Rev. C G5 iMacs, right? They also used 533MHz DDR2.
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    Arrrgh... no. SO-DIMM vs DIMM -- 200 pins vs 240 pins -- 2" wide vs. 5" long

    It's like saying: this Ford F-150 piston should fit in your Focus, they're both Fords? :)

    DDR2-533 describes the speed and the electrical signalling, not the physical package.. You can have DDR2-533 DIMMs, SODIMMs, and MicroDIMMs

    Photo
     
  11. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #11
    I know the difference between the sizes ;). Sorry, I could have sworn that Rev. C G5s had SO-DIMM memory...my bad :eek:
     

Share This Page