iMac 24" with 256 NVIDIA

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joshwest, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #1
    im sure this has been answered but, can a iMac 24" with 256 NVIDIA Graphics Card support the 30" Display?
     
  2. Mundy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #2
    No.

    1920x1200 is the maximum resolution the iMac's Mini-DVI output supports.
     
  3. JPT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #3
    It can support it, but not to it's fullest. ;) (I believe)
     
  4. KatmanDu macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    NE Georgia
    #4
    Ok. I keep hearing this- iMac won't support any screen larger than what's built in- but does that mean that you can't use anything physically bigger than 23", as in, it won't work at all.... or does it mean that you could plug in a 30" screen but could only display a maximum resolution of 1900x1200 (assuming you had a 24" iMac)?
     
  5. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #5
    If I understand correctly, it's not the "unable to do more than internal screen bit" As I've run a 24" LCD off my 20" Imac.

    Rather - To use any display that has a resolution greater than 1920 x 1200 DPI, you need TWO DVI ports for the bandwidth required. If you can dig up a 30" with 1920 x 1200 pixels or less, you're golden.... But that is unlikely, at best.

    So being that most 30" LCDs have 2560 x 1600 native resolution - the single DVI port will not cut it.

    I do not know if you could run a 30 LCD at a lower resolution - that may be possible, but would likely look terrible, because when an LCD is not at "native" resolution, they tend to look really fuzzy / blurry. Again, I'm not sure if the 30" REQUIRES both DVIs to operate or not at a lower res. It does reqiure both for native resolution.
     
  6. toru173 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #6
    Not two DVI ports physically, just one "Dual Link" port. It supports twice the bandwidth (hence twice the resolution) in the same physical form factor - it just has more pins.
     
  7. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #7
    The sad thing is that I'm sure the video chip is more than capable of handling that display. But there is not a connector on that computer to do it.
     

Share This Page