iMac 27.5 retina graphics problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ivoruest, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #1
    Hello everybody,

    I'm having an issue with my Late 2014 Retina iMac. It seems like software problems but I just want to make sure its not graphics card or any other hardware issue. Sometimes, when selecting or triggering flash or html5 objects in Safari (in this case) in my lower right corner appears some strange squares. Very much like when your graphics card is failing. This time was when viewing a video in Vimeo and every time the pointer got into the video window it appeared. Sometimes it stayed fixed and when I moved the mouse it kind of flashed and then stayed fixed and later it even disappeared or stayed there. But when I moved the mouse again it could disappear. It definitely was unpredictable.

    I'm uploading some pictures for your reference. If any of you is having this same problems please tell me if you fixed or if I should take my iMac to the Apple Store to get it checked. Many thanks in advance.

    I'm using Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.1 (latest up to today)
    iMac 27.5 Retina AMD R9 m290X with 2GB

    Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.10.35 AM.png Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.11.15 AM.png Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.11.32 AM.png
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Definitely looks like GPU failure to me, I'd show those photos when you take your iMac to the Apple Store and they'll replace the Logic Board.

    (Just to clarify: saw synonymous issues on other iMacs/2011 MBPs, even with it being in an isolated area as it is with you, and they were repaired due to MLB failure)

    If you're unsure, reset PRAM/SMC and see if issue persists.
     
  3. ivoruest thread starter macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #3
    Do you know if I file for a warranty claim and have my Motherboard replaced, is it possible to upgrade the processor? I would like to take the advantage that they will open the computer so this may give me the chance to upgrade for a better processor.

    If so, is there a restriction for a specific processor or can I put which ever I want that obviously fit on the socket?
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Nope, even if you could they wouldn't do it. Sorry!
     
  5. v.gmarcos macrumors newbie

    v.gmarcos

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    #5
    --- Post Merged, Jun 4, 2016 ---
    It is a software problem, I get my macbook Pro retina mother board replaced and it continuous to happens. I have 4 macs at home it occurs to all of them when using ONLY iTunes and other app and you switch between them via exposé. I reported to Apple few months ago but it seem to they are not solving because in OS X 10.11.5 it continuous to happen.
     

Share This Page