iMac 27" 5K Issue.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iGeek2014, May 20, 2017.

  1. iGeek2014 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #1
    Hello there.

    I'm having some issues with my mid-2015 iMac 5K.

    Very recently it keeps shutting down of it's own accord. I have to unplug the iMac from the mains and wait a good few minutes before I can power it back on again.

    I've spoken with Apple support and tried the Diagnostics test, a SMC Reset and even different mains sockets but it still persists.

    I am booked in to the Genius Bar next Thursday afternoon and am hazarding a guess it's hardware related. As I'm out of warranty (it's a second hand iMac purchased via eBay and has been running fine since November 16) what kind of fees should I be looking at?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #2
    I've had this start happening with my 2012 27" iMac. Everything i've read points to a Power Supply issue. Will be running happily and then just power off. Have to pull mains, wait for 15 seconds or so, plug back in and press power button to boot. Effectively the machine dies and needs an SMC reset every time you want to get it back up.

    I ran the Apple diagnostics overnight and the machine was still up this morning, showing no diagnostic errors, so perhaps it's power load related. Be interested in what you get from your visit.
     
  3. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #3
    Any chance you guys are running the iMac via a surge protector or similar.or an extension lead?
     
  4. MrGimper, May 22, 2017
    Last edited: May 22, 2017

    MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #4
    Nope, I've tried several sockets in the house and several power cords

    Edit: I'm now trying to install Sierra from a USB stick onto an external TB SSD. Hopefully if that works I can at least to a SuperDuper clone of my internal Fusion Drive to another HD "to be sure, to be sure". I'll then see if it runs from the external. Hell, I'd be happy if it ran long enough to do the install!
     
  5. todds89 macrumors newbie

    todds89

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    #5
    Same issues here... started about a year ago, then quit for about 6 months. Now starting to do it again.. just shuts off randomly, doesn't even seem to be load based. Have to unplug for UPS and then back in.
     
  6. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #6
    Install worked but switched off shortly after booting from the external disk. I've now ripped out 3 of the 4 SODIMMS and trying again.....
     
  7. PhoenixDown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #7
    Happened to a friend's 5k iMAC ... computer would randomly shut down.

    Turns out it was the logic board. But this was after they replaced the SSD portion of the hybrid drive.

    Thankfully covered under Apple Care but it was serious $$$.
     
  8. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #8
    Any work done out of warranty on the "glued together" iMacs is going to be expensive. Mine is also out of warranty and I'm hoping it holds together long enough until the new iMacs appear and I can trade up. :rolleyes:
     
  9. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #9
    Mine died again, but I have just used an air duster on the air intakes on the underside, and used a vacuum on there too as well as inside the memory door and rear exhaust vent. LOTS of dust flew out of the air intakes below the screen. Fingers crossed, touching wood (ooo-errr) etc, it's been up and running for 90 minutes doing a disk clone.....
    --- Post Merged, May 22, 2017 ---
    And it died about 15 mins after my previous post...
     
  10. iGeek2014 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #10
    Sorry for the delay in replying to my original post.

    I had been using a UPS but have tried other (main sockets) and it still persists.

    At the moment I've been using it for an hour or so a day then shutting it down altogether when it's not in use.

    Although it's been out of warranty since June 2016 (according to the model's details on my Apple I.D) I'll see what they say come Thursday.

    Did check the air vents for any dust build up but there was nothing.

    Granted I didn't purchase it directly from Apple but if it was the Logic Board I might exercise my consumer rights.

    Fair enough if it was getting on but a computer that was originally £1,599 and just under two years old that's been looked after shouldn't fail so easily IMHO.

    In all fairness to Apple a few years ago the LCD panel on my iMac 21.5" mid-2011 failed and they replaced it under the SoGA.
     
  11. PhoenixDown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #11
    @MrGimper -- Try booting your iMac from an external drive. If that seems to work for an extended period of time it may be time for a new drive. If that doesn't work, then its likely your logic board. :(
     
  12. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #12
    My last attempt was booted from a clean install of Sierra on an external Thunderbolt SSD :(
    It ran for about 100 minutes, doing a super duper clone of my internal disk to another external USB disk.

    Strangely enough, it stayed up during the install and also overnight when I ran the in-built diags.

    Annoying
     
  13. Lightsaber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    #13
    Could be a bad memory stick.
     

Share This Page