iMac 27" i5 2.7 with RAM upgrade vs. i5 3.1

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Lihi, Jul 18, 2011.

1. Lihi macrumors newbie

I'm about to purchase a mid 2011 iMac (waiting for Lion to come pre-installed).
    I'm a graphic designer, using adobe cs5 products such as: Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, Flash, Dreamweaver, and i work a lot, day and night.
    There's a slight chance i'll start working with After Effects and maybe a little video editing, but this is just a "side" thing, not some serious editing work.

I'm on a budget therefore i'm having a hard time deciding between the two 27" models (especially because of the graphics card).
    I was thinking maybe a 8GB RAM upgrade on the base model would be more efficient than buying the high-end model? (i can't upgrade the high-end since it's way too much for my budget)

2. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

iSayuSay

How would you update your iMac's RAM? Do you mean you're gonna opt between 2.7GHz iMac w/8GB from Apple and 3.1GHz iMac w/4GB standard?

Now that is so wrong, you'd better go with 3.1GHz and upgrade RAM later. Wait 3 or 4 months until you could spend some $$ for RAM and upgrade it yourself.

3. sonarghost, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

sonarghost macrumors regular

I agree with IsayUsay.

One thing that I would consider though is getting the imac now so you don't already have Lion preinstalled. There are two reasons why I chose this route:

1. You will get Lion anyway when it's released.
    2. You use many professional grade programs that may take a while to be patched up OR patched up enough to iron out some major/minor bugs that may occur.