iMac 27" i7 Desktop screen and Boot issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jfriedman8, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. jfriedman8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    I got my 27" i7 last Friday and am loving it so far minus a two little things.

    1. When my desktop boots, the "Macintosh HD" is not present. I feel like a moron for asking this, but how do i get it to appear in the upper right corner of the screen like every other Mac I have owned has? I have tried everything and I have no clue why I cannot get it to appear there.

    2. So far the 2/3 times I have rebooted the computer, it takes a while to go from the grey screen, then the blue screen, then nothing. I can usually hear the HDD (1TB ST (Seagate) model) working, but nothing. I have had to put the computer to sleep then rewake it to get the login screen to come up.... This happened after I finished loading all my iTunes files, Photos, and programs from my MBP via Target Disk Mode using FW800. I tride unplugging all devices on boot and it still took a while. Anyone have a suggestion? I would rather not have to do a fresh install and then xfer over 500GB of stuff again.
     
  2. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #2
    To answer your first question: To get the HD to show up, open up Finder and click on Preferences. Then pick what you want to show on the desktop.
     
  3. jfriedman8 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    Thanks.

    My boot issue is still there and now my iTunes won't even open. It froze so I force quit. The when I tried to reopen, it says some folder is locked and I do not have the permission to open it... I am the only user on the computer. Looks like I am going to have to do a fresh install. ugh. I hope I can find a way to deauthorize the computer though. I am already at 5 users.


    *** Just restarted and after a long boot, 1min sleep, I am logged back in. iTunes now opens. Weird.
     
  4. Ecoh macrumors 6502a

    Ecoh

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Have you tried "Repair Permissions " ? Just saying this because your error message is saying something about permissions not being correct.
     
  5. frankzeg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    colorado
    #5
    Brand new iMac27 won't boot

    Well I guess I may have something similar. Brand new just out of the box iMac27 does not appear to be booting up. I get the chord sound and a dim grey screen- then nothing. After a few minutes it speaks: "english" nothing else happens. Sits there dead as a doornail. Is this a returner? All this after waiting for weeks for the machine.
     
  6. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #6
    Try booting from your install disc and reinstalling the OS. Just stick in the first CD, boot up your iMac, and then immediately hold the "C" key until you see the installer.

    However, before you install I would recommend verifying your hard drive to see if that's not the root of the problem.
     
  7. jeep macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Paris
    #7
    I have exactly the same problem - same symptom, same amount of previous data transferred on the new iMac. So I wonder, did you solve the issue?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page