Imac 27" i7 Worthy Desktop Replacement

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Foxhound09, May 16, 2010.

  1. Foxhound09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys

    Im new to the forum as you are aware, and also new to the Mac world. Im considering of buying the upper end of the imacs (Quad Core) to replace my current desktop. Basically ive got some concerns with the operating of the mac.

    Would the upper end mac handle the current games out and would it handle the upcoming games? With that been said with Windows 7 been released on the mac does this mean u can still utilise all the programs available for Win7, IE games and programs?

    Any help would be great

    Thanks:)
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Yes, the quad-core will handle all upcoming games at ~medium settings. If you install Windows, it'll be just like a PC, all games and apps will work
     
  3. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #3
    This might be a dumb question but have you looked here? http://www.apple.com/imac/performance.html I know nothing about gaming on computers, I've never done anything but Flight Simulator and that was years ago with the 2004 version but I've heard that Mac's can actually run Windows and then Windows games better than actual PC's can. I think you'll be fine, especially if you load up on the RAM...But buy the RAM aftermarket!

    ****EDIT: Also, make sure you read the fine print at the bottom of the page!****
     
  4. Kallel00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #4
    You won't have any problems running Windows 7 & games. I currently play Starcraft II Beta on high and it runs fine ;)
     
  5. davidcmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
    Not every game.
    For example: Battlefield Bad Company 2 and Crysis.
    Those are CPU and GPU intensive games. Also, some people don't know but the 4850 in the 27" iMac is a mobile (notebook) version, not a desktop version.

    Those games won't run in HIGH settings at the 27" native resolution.
     
  6. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #6
    Definitely not.
     
  7. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #7
    They can run windows and run games in windows better than osx can.

    The mobility branding on the current iMac's gpu doens't mean too much, it's still one of the best mobility cards one can get, and was the best apple could offer at the time of the iMac's release-- with the exception of the mobility 4870 or one of the higher end nvidia cards. It's based directly on its desktop variant, except for lower clocks. About all that means is just a 10gb/s less memory bandwidth (53, compared to 63; most mobility cards run in the 25gb/s bandwidth) Performance of the mobility 4850 is equal to desktop 4830.
     
  8. Foxhound09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #8
    Ok, So it can play games like Battlefield Bad Company 2 etc? Just not on high graphics? I was thinking about getting the Quad Core version with the high end graphics card would that make a difference?
     
  9. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I play BFBC2 on max (no AA) at native resolution with the 27" i7 (with the 4850M). Even if it isn't fluid enough for you (it is for me), I'd assume you'd be able to play them at least on medium.

    I can also play Crysis on medium at native resolution (no AA), although low does seem a bit more fluid. Warhead is the same (although a few less FPS on Mainstream than the original, or so it appears).

    EDIT: I've also played Just Cause 2 on reasonably high (or med) settings (no AA) with the extra's (like hi-res shadows) turned off. I'd guess it gets between 16-24 FPS, even on low settings you don't notice much more FPS.
     
  10. TiffanyBee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I played StarCraft II Beta with Photoshop running in the background & it ran beautifully.

    I don't have the quadcore though. The Sims 3 works really great on my iMac too. I'm sure you'll have no problem playing the games you want to play on the quadcore; it just depends on your settings of course. I'm not an intense gamer though so running everything on high is a bit overkill for me.
     

Share This Page