iMac 27-inch 5K Late 2015 1TB - PCIe connector present or not?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by IchingEUNY, Oct 27, 2017.

  1. IchingEUNY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'll be upgrading CPU and SSD in my iMac. I've got an HDD version not the fusion one. I checked teardown videos and photos and I couldn't find out whether PCIe connector is present or not if one has HDD version. It's not a big deal since I'll be putting SATA SSD in but I thought I might also take advantage of it.
     
  2. tn-xyz macrumors regular

    tn-xyz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    #2
    yes, all 2015 models have it, but it's proprietary as you probably know.
     
  3. IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #4
    I was really concerned since I don't have the fusion version and Apple would try to do away with it. Yes, I'm fully aware that the drive is proprietary but you can find some on ebay.

    I'm planning to upgrade i5-6400 to i7-6700 and install PCIE NVME drive along with a regular SSD for storage.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 27, 2017 ---
    I just watched it. I'm not sure if it's Sandisk or Samsung in late 2015 but as long as it has the same proprietary connection it should work
     
  4. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #5
    Before you go too far click on Mayer's response in the link I posted. He states the PCI-e is there if you machine originally came with an SSD or Fusion Drive!


    Quote "If your iMac was configured with a Solid State Drive or Fusion Drive, it includes an SSD on the back of the logic board. Use this guide to access and remove the SSD."
     
  5. tn-xyz macrumors regular

    tn-xyz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    #6
    it only states the location of the SSD. it doesn't say there's only a PCIe connector if you bought a fusion drive or SSD model.

    OWC says all 2015 model have the proprietary connection, even the HDD only ones.

    https://blog.macsales.com/30510-unb...-the-2015-27-inch-imac-with-retina-5k-display
     
  6. mbosse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #7
    That quote only applies to the 21.5" iMac with HDD only, this only up to the 2017 models. All others have the SSD PCIe port regardless their original specification.
     
  7. IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #8
    I figured. I don't think Apple would go that far and get rid of PCIe port for HDD models only. Once I get the CPU and PCIe SSD I'll let you know if all works.
     
  8. mml78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #9
    Yes you have the PCIe connector, you can find a compatible SSD blade in ebay, if you need help just ask. For the CPU you can upgrade to 6700K but it is very, very difficult to replace the old cpu and insert a new one in the right place, it is better to keep your i5 or ask for someone with some experience.
     
  9. IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #10
    I'm a PC person and a gamer so I use my own rigs. It's fairly easy to replace parts in an iMac it's just labor intensive and involves a lot if screws. I'll go with i7-6700 since it's 65 watt. I wanted to be sure with pcie port before I buy SSD on eBay.

    Thank you for the help.
     
  10. mml78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #11
    I upgraded my Late 2015 (regular 1TB original) with PCIe SSD and put an 6700k, it was easy for the ssd, a litle hard for the cpu. Used for a couple of months like this and is very fast, it was the best thing i can do for my imac. What i tried to said is changing cpu is not for everyone, if you feel comfortable go ahead, you will notice a big, big performance improvement.
     
  11. IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #12
    You're absolutely correct. I should have been more clear in my first post. How are the temps and noise with 6700k? It's a 95 watt processor. Some people were complaining about the noise and excessive temps when rendering etc. What SSD did you out it?
     
  12. mml78, Oct 29, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017

    mml78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    #13
    Noise is not a problem in regular usage; regular 1200rpm. Rendering cpu will heat a litle just like the original 6700k late 2015 from apple (remember it is the same logicBoard, the same heat sink and the same 6700k - yes its true, apple use the same parts for 65W and 95w; they just change the cpu), maximum fan rpm only sorts out when you use all or almost all the cpu power and yes you can hear the fan in this situations, just like any other computer. For example: right now i' using firefox, vlc playing one h264 1080p video, MS Word is opened, and i'm transfer some large files to my NAS - for the temps you can see the picture (fan rpm still in 1200 and no noise).

    For the SSD search something like this: SAMSUNG MZ-JPV5120/0A4
    There another ones compatibles, even the ones with only 2.5A energy but i think they are a little less faster.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. IchingEUNY, Oct 29, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017

    IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #14
    It looks good. Thank you for the screenshot. I use a big Noctua NH-D14 cooler with my i7-3770k but then I'm running a heavy overclock. I've got a Samsung 256GB ssuax. I'll live with a bit slower speeds.
     
  14. _Kiki_ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    #15
    I upgraded recently my iMac Retina 27 Late 2015, from i5-6600 to i7-6700K, fan it's little louder but temps are ok

    I think you should go for 6700K not 6700, because second one can be not support by Boot ROM/EFI

    to upgrade you need remove the logic board, PSU and speakers, so almost everything

    SSD slot is property so you need Apple SSD, recommended Samsung SSUBX 2015 or newer

    Upgrade shouldn't be difficult for person with tech skills from desktop PC
     
  15. IchingEUNY, Oct 30, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017

    IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #16
    I see people running Hakintosh with i7-6700. It shouldn't be a problem. If not then I'll get 6700k. (-; People were asking a lot of money for SSUBX drives. I went with SSUAX.
     
  16. _Kiki_ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    #17

    I said can be limit on iMac for supported CPUs, limit is on Boot Rom/EFI not MacOS (system), Hackintosh it's a completely different hardware (PC) with unlocked BIOS/EFI, you can't compare Hackintosh to the iMac
    most sellers doesn't know about any difference between SSUBX and SSUAX, so you can often buy SSUBX for the price SSUAX
     
  17. IchingEUNY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #18
    I know. I can still grab 6700k. I'm fine with ssuax since I 'll running system and apps of it only.
     

Share This Page

17 October 27, 2017