iMac 27" plus 27" Cinema Display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mauka, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. mauka macrumors member

    mauka

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #1
    Requesting comments from anyone using an iMac 27" with a 27" Cinema Display as second monitor. Sounds like a 'dream' setup to me but are there any problems or downsides to having so much screen real estate? Can the iMac and the standard AMD 5750 1GB keep up or are there image problems.? What about sound, are you using the 27" Cinema speakers, or the iMac set, or both?

    Thanks in advance,
    Alan
     
  2. petsk macrumors 6502

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    #2
    Personally I didn't quite find it useful because:
    - You have to turn your head from side to side a lot.
    - The height of the iMac and ACD does not align, wish is pretty annoying.
    - The black borders are very thick.
    - It's annoying that the dock and menu bar can only be displayed in one screen (I've seen some software workaround on the latter one).

    I didn't notice any problems with my late 2009 i7 iMac.

    I haven't used this at all so far.

    All in all I have only done some basic testing, so my experience is somewhat limited. Maybe you can also get used to some of these 'problems' or find workarounds. Maybe it's also a question of what kind of work you do, I work mostly with design and programming.

    With that said, I would without doubt prefer one huge monitor (35 inch?) instead of two 27 inch monitors.

    I'll attach my setup. Cheers :)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #3
    petsk, do you not use your disc drive in your setup at all? just curious :)
     
  4. petsk macrumors 6502

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    #4
    Almost never, though I use the SD slot all the time wish is on the same side :D But currently I don't use the ACD next to the iMac, so it's not a problem. If I did, then this would probably be yet another annoying thing to add to the list :rolleyes:

    EDIT: Of course you could also switch the iMac to the right side and the ACD to the left side to get around this ;)
     
  5. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #5
    I have dual 27inch monitors on my mac pro and I LOVE the setup. Its perfect when I'm texturing in Maya, or programming (big one) or working in a game engine (another big one). I don't find it too big at all.
     
  6. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #6
    Dammit, I was all set on getting the 21.5" 3.20 i3, but after seeing your setup I may have to ponder waiting and saving up for a 27"... decisions decisions, lol
     
  7. Rhobes macrumors 6502

    Rhobes

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Missoula,MT
    #7
    Just a thought. I was intent on getting a 2nd monitor in late Fall last year when I got my new iMac. I was asking around & someone said get it after you use your 27" for awhile. I waited, and just haven't redeveloped an interest in a 2nd monitor as yet...:D
     
  8. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #8
    the problem for me with this set up (how I had it a while ago) is that it is far too much real estate for you head and neck to cover. Not to mention the fact that the two monitors dont match up height wise drove me nuts. 50 inches is far too wide if really using it. I find myself favoring the middle of just one 27
     
  9. Uabcar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #9
    Looking at that picture... it just amazes me that Apple- of all companies, didn't put out a product that could be aligned (along the tops) with their exisitng 27" iMac. Perhaps making it adjustable.

    I know I'm totally anal about this stuff- but that non-matching thing would drive me nuts - and likely be enough for me to not get one.

    Now- two 27" CDs with a mac pro- that would look nice....

    I would have bought one over the holidays if it had two v-inputs.
     
  10. jamesdmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #10
    If I'm not mistaken, the ACD was marketed as a companion to the notebooks, not the iMacs. Don't get me wrong, I get what you're saying and I agree completely. But I don't think getting the ACD to match the iMac was ever in Apple's plans. And that sucks because it would be a sweet looking setup.


    You're not alone on this one.
     
  11. ndraves macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I have a larger setup with 3 displays on my MP and I don't find that there is "too much" real estate. Obviously you can't look at the whole area at once but it enables you to not have to switch between windows. Just glance over at what it is you want to look at. I find this much quicker.

    My colleague has the 27" iMac and ACD and he has a book under the ACD to raise it the 1" to make them level!! Crazy!

    The ACD wasn't made just for the notebooks but for the whole range including the iMac and MP. The addition of the charger on the cable was to help with desk clutter and wall sockets for the notebook users. It does make that setup rather nice though


    IMO once I had used multiple displays I would now never go back, just too useful!
     
  12. mauka thread starter macrumors member

    mauka

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #12
    Thanks for all the feedback. I didn't realize the two would be different heights, poor design choice in my opinion. I think I'll wait awhile, I have a 1600x1080 monitor that I can use as a second for now. Very accustomed to having dual screens.

    BTW: Fedex delivered my "refurb" iMac 27" i7 yesterday. Except for the plain white box it appears as clean and blemish free as a new one. The white box needs to be a bit stronger, it was giving out in the corners and the computer was moving around inside the box quite a bit. It booted right up, looks great, and runs circles around my Core2 Mini. Going to take my time installing my software over the next few days, VM Fusion (Windows XP and maybe 7), Aperture, Photoshop Elements, and iOS SDK. Also waiting for another 8GB or RAM and Office 2011 Home to arrive. Decided not to run the transfer, gives me a chance to clean things up.

    Alan
     
  13. Rhobes macrumors 6502

    Rhobes

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Missoula,MT
    #13
    "refurb" iMac 27" i7 yesterday. Except for the plain white box it appears as clean and blemish free as a new one."


    I just bought a pair of blemished AudioEngine A5 stereo speckers for my iMac. Got them from Crutchfeild, for the life of me I could not find the tiniest hairline mark & I don't see that the packaging was ever opened. Saved $75.00 from the next best (brand new?) price, got free delivery, and the color I wanted (black).:D
     

Share This Page