iMac 27" Weird issue after HD upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RiSq, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. RiSq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #1
    Hello there,

    I have a 27" iMac which recently had a hard drive fail. So it was replaced with a 1TB seagate by my IT department at work (I myself work in IT, but Windows side - I'm new to Mac)

    Anyway, they got SL on it using my install disks, however I now seem to have a really bizarre issue, and I'm not sure if it's related to the HDD or if the Superdrive is being funny.

    If I put in the Installation disk, it starts to load up, I get the apple logo but it doesn't go any further. The drive continues for a bit, before stopping. I don't have the usual progress indicator.. left it for 20 mins, same screen (Just the Apple logo on white background - No loading circle)

    Tried the same disk in a Macbook pro here, loads fine and passed the indicator and into set-up....so that rules out an issue with the disk.


    So, I thought I'd try another test....install Windows 7 via Bootcamp. I start it, reboot to begin the Windows Process, and it comes up with an error.

    "No bootable media found" - Now to me, it seems like this is an issue with it not detecting the hard drive properly. Is there some sort of cache that should of been cleared after the replacement that the IT department got?

    the only other thing I think it could be is the super drive, but once in Snow Leopard it detects the DVD instantly and I can browse all of the files no problem, which suggests it's not the Super drive, but again....the hard drive.

    Can someone give me some advice please, as to what to check and what could be causing my problems...

    to say I'm getting frustrated with it all, would be an understatement.

    Cheers,
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    That's a weird set of problems. For the "cache" question, no, there's nothing like that to worry about. Only thing I can think of is are you using the installation disks that came with the iMac? If you're trying to use an older version of Snow Leopard from a retail box, it won't boot on your iMac.

    Nor will the install disks from the Macbook be able to boot the iMac, regardless of version.

    Edit: Just read the Windows install error. That makes me think something might be going on with the drive itself..maybe not fully plugged in??
     
  3. RiSq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #3
    Hi,

    Thanks for answering...

    That is odd, with regards to the versions of the disk. I was using my MBP SL install disk (Both the iMac and MBP are on the latest versions)

    So from what you're saying, if my IT chaps used a later retail disk of Snow Leopard on the iMac, it now won't recognise my retail copy of SL which is older? If that's the case, it's ridiculous.

    How do I go about getting round this to test? I'm installing it onto a USB Drive now, to see if I can access that via the boot menu. If I can get into the installation via this method, it indicates something very odd is going on!

    Best way to desribe it is that it starts to check my system out (See the Mouse Optical light flash etc, like you normally see on installs) - then completely stops, then the disk stops spinning!
     
  4. RiSq thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #4
    Ok,

    Well I backed the CD up to my USB drive and made that my start disk, and it does exactly the same thing....so I'm thinking you may be right, as to it doesn't like the SL retail disk I have, as it's different to the one used originally.

    How do I get around this, as the iMac is based at my home, so I want to use my SL disk, rather than my works one.

    Is there a way I can get into disk recovery outside of the OSX, wipe it then re-run an installation using my SL disk?

    What's the way forward? You're help is much appreciated!
     
  5. Drewbie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #5
    so im a little confused....

    sounds like it wont boot to the windows side.
    does it boot to the mac OS?
    and does it boot to the mac os install dvd?
     
  6. ghboard2010, Apr 19, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011

    ghboard2010 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Dont look now, I'm right behind you
    #6
    Hard Drive Wierdness. . .

    Hmm..., I recall a very similar problem with a Mac Mini hard drive replacement. In my case it turned out to be an improperly seated cable at the drive, re-seating resolved issue. It may be worth looking into, not a guarantee but I think of this first. Sorta' along the 'Is it plugged in?' variety of troubleshooting.

    FWIW my 2¢
     

Share This Page