iMac 3.2GHz i5 vs 3.4GHz i7

Discussion in 'iMac' started by phase4, Dec 4, 2012.

1. phase4 macrumors newbie

I'm looking to buy the new 27" iMac and I don't know if I should spend the extra money for the 3.2GHz i5 or 3.4GHz i7. I'm a photographer and I work a lot in Photoshop CS6, Lightroom 4, and Photomechanic. Also, I tend to leave a lot of programs running all at the same time, in addition to the above, like Mail, Firefox, Excel, iTunes, Quickbooks, and Roes... and I'll sometimes add on another program or two just to see if I can get my computer to explode...

Anyway, based on what I do, does anyone who understands computers, know if it is worth the increase in price for the added performance, and will I even be able to tell the difference.

Thanks!!!

2. Resist macrumors 68030

I would purchase the fastest model you can afford. That way the computer will suit your needs much longer before having to upgrade.

3. drambuie macrumors 6502a

Those CPUs are the 3.2GHz i5-3470 and the i7-3770. Besides internal archtectural refinements, the i7 has 8MB of internal level 3 cache vs 6MB for the i5. CS6 is one application that would definitely take advantage of the increased cache, mainly because you will be doing repetitive instructions on a large data field, ie., a gamma change to a 60+MB photo. If you will be doing a lot of photo enhancing on large files, I would say that the i7 with its higher speed and larger cache would be applicable in your case. I would also say that a minimum of 16GB of memory would be a necessity. On the 27" iMac you can upgrade RAM yourself, so if you add 16GB, (2X8), that would give you 24GB.

As a matter of interest, the i5 retails at around $200 and the i7 is about $300, so Apple is making a nice profit on the i7 over the i5, but some other OEMs also charge similar premiums for CPU step ups.

4. smoge macrumors regular

smoge

5. chfilm macrumors 65816

chfilm

6. phase4 thread starter macrumors newbie