iMac 30"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by smilinmonki666, Jun 16, 2008.

?

Would you buy a 30" iMac if one became available???

  1. Yes!!

    15.7%
  2. Yes, providing the resolution was higher with a good graphic's card!!

    37.3%
  3. Whats the point???

    47.1%
  1. smilinmonki666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Will there ever be one, if so would you buy it & why?

    I would buy it as I will eventually use it for photo editing & always have multiple apps open, I know that there is the "spaces" option, but a bigger screen always helps...
     
  2. Westsider 4 Mac macrumors regular

    Westsider 4 Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    On the West Side
  3. BlakTornado Guest

    BlakTornado

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, OH
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    i certainly wouldn't be able to afford it, but i'd wan it, yes.
     
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
    If they made the case thicker to handle a two removable double wide desktop GPU's and made the 2x9800GX2 SLI optional:cool:. Oh and use a desktop CPU so I could have a Quad core. Plus make the screen removable.

    Heck with it headless iMac:D.
     
  6. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #6
    I would definitely buy it, especially if they bump up all the specs and make it the imac pro
     
  7. alam macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #7
    i'll have it under two conditions:-
    1_ Graphic card must be extremely powerful and upgradable :D
    2_ Vesa mount is available (i mean hanging the imac into the wall just like an LCD monitor) so that it doesn't take much space in my desk :D
    [​IMG]

    if these options are available then i'm in!!
     
  8. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8
    I'd actually rather have a 27 inch iMac, but I'd be thrilled with a 30 inch.
     
  9. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #9
    I don't see the point. I would not want one, but I see a high demand for one. So I do think Apple should make one. But for me I see no use for one. But I want a Mac Pro. I know they can't make an iMac with the same specs....

    ~Steven
     
  10. Elven macrumors 6502a

    Elven

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Would require a far more powerful graphics option, 4GB ram standard Quad core and interchangable graphics.
     
  11. ShadowXOR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
  12. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #12
    You already can do that.
     
  13. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #13
    Really, how? I would love to do that to my 20".
     
  14. phalewhale macrumors 6502a

    phalewhale

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #14
    Too big for my desk. Plus, if i could afford it/had space I'd go with 2*23" ACDs
     
  15. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #15
    That would be the point. To get my 20" iMac off the desk and onto the wall. When I get my new desk and a Mac Pro. I plain to get two 23" also.



    But the more I thought about it. I think the 30" is very stupid. For the price that it would probably start at. I would rather purchase a Mac Pro with a 23" or save for a 30". I bet it would not be that much more either. I think if Apple was to release a 30" it would be more wise to release an "Xmac".

    Something like this:
    Mid Tower Case
    Single Intel Quad Core
    Support for up to two GPU's or one if the GPU is Huge
    Support up to 8 Gigs of Ram
    Room for three Hard Drives

    You get the point.

    ~Steven
     
  16. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #16
    Sad thing is, its only for the 24" model, sorry dude
     
  17. alam macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #17
    can you tell me how to do it with my 24 inch imac?
     
  18. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #18
    You need a $30 adapter kit - search the Apple Store for VESA. As for the poll, I wouldn't get one for the same reason I didn't get a 30" ACD - not enough room for it on my desk :)
    Having said that, if it was a proper "media center" system with a TV tuner and video recording together with front row, I could see some benefit as a TV / Computer combination
     

Share This Page