iMac 5K - full spec and GTA V- anyone got this working yet?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BrucieDT, Apr 15, 2015.

  1. BrucieDT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    #1
    Has anyone got this working yet. I was thinking of downloading the beta of W10 and putting it onto bootcamp so i can run GTAV natively, but wondered if anyone has done this yet and is it worth it performance wise?

    I saw a vid of someone running it at they were getting about 40FPS in 2.7k mode and about 20 in 4k mode.

    I have an external monitor - is there anyway to make the imac just use the external monitor - thunderbolt (in the hope that this would improve performance as there is no upscaling needed to 5k when run at 2.7k)
     
  2. teethemagicbee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #2
    Are you not able to reduce the res any more? Really you wanna start at 1080p then work up till you find your sweet spot. I don't even have a Mac, let alone a 5k one haha. Just assuming.

    Also if you can, buy a copy of windows. If you plan on doing some gaming, I'm pretty sure I read everyone on windows 7 and up will be getting a free upgrade to windows 10? The beta will run out at some point.
     
  3. vladobizik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Location:
    Slovakia
    #4
    I have a RiMac, i7, R9 M295X, 3 TB Fusion Drive.
    I use the latest Boot Camp drivers from AMD (14.301). The latest generic ones optimized for GTA V have been reported to work with a workaround, but I had nothing but problems and BSODs with them. Be careful.
    I run the game at almost full details and it runs great.
    I'm attaching a video where you can see all my graphics settings as well as a bit of what the gameplay looks like. Please note that I shot the video during light rainfall in-game, which is when the game performs the worst! There are other times, especially at night, when the game performs buttery smooth.
    If you scale down at least some of the settings, you can easily get 60 FPS out of it. It's just that I'm not too much sensitive to lower framerates and prefer high details. It's a matter of personal preference. Here is the video:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ongvm35ec5xs0gv/video 16-04-15 16 17 04.mov?dl=1
     
  4. BrucieDT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    #5
    Thanks for the replies, really helpful.

    I went ahead and installed myself as well.

    First tried with Windows 10. The iso you download is the 9226 build and I could not get any AMD drivers working, so that was no go. The latest build it patches to is 10049 and i had the same issue. I bought W8 and have successfully had it running on that. Note: 100GB isn't enough (it requires a reinstall to clear and expand the partition) - I went for 125GB.

    The game runs beautifully at 2.7K and I haven't even put the very latest AMD drivers on it, but am simply using the bootcamp ones.

    Haven't tried it at 4K, but the posts above think I might try and tweak a few things and do so. The game is good enough to run at much lower resolutions and you get immersed in so quickly that you forget the resolution. Though at the higher resolutions you do stop now and then and just look at the stunning scenery.
     
  5. OlexandrIgnatov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #6
    Just did yesterday!

    riMac 32gigs Ram, i7, M295X.

    It runs even at 4K, but fans are going really crazy and temps went out to 100-105C on CPU/GPU. Don't think it's a really good thing to do for more than an hour straight, so I'm using closer to minimal settings to play, still enjoying it.

    What do you think guys?
     

Share This Page