iMac 5K- is 16GB RAM Enough?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rrrahu1, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. rrrahu1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi,

    I just received my stock 5K iMac with Intel i5.

    I also just ordered, based on reading these forums, the following RAM:

    "Crucial Ballistix Sport SODIMM 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3 1866 MT/s (PC3-14900) CL10 @1.35V 204-Pin Memory BLS2K8G3N18AES4"

    My question is twofold:

    1) Is 16 GB @ 1866 Mhz enough to smoothly run a moderately intensive Yosemite?

    2) Will I be able to add an additional 16 GB of the same RAM in the future, if need be? (Total RAM would in that case be 32 GB).

    Thank you, and apologies if this has been answered before.
     
  2. stradders macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #2
    I have the same and went for the 16GB upgrade at the apple store and have found it to be pretty good so far. You can upgrade more Ram to 32gb when ever you like with matching ram as in 4x8 gb
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    1. This should help: How much RAM do I need in my Mac?

    2. Yes. You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  4. rrrahu1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Thank you for your response.

    For question #2 I was wondering whether 32 GB @ 1866 Mhz was possible, as Apple's guidelines only cover the stock 1600 Mhz RAM.

    Can anyone help?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    I would suggest you use the specifications that Apple recommends. You wouldn't notice any difference in performance during regular use.
     
  6. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #6
    Wouldn't 1866 RAM just underclock to 1600 anyway, making it pointless?
     
  7. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #7
    1) What is "moderately intensive Yosemite"?
    2) Yes
     
  8. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #8

    Apparently not.

    That said, the real-world difference is obviously debatable.
     
  9. rrrahu1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    My question is specifically whether my iMac will be able to handle 32 GB of this type of RAM while maintaining a 1866 Mhz speed.

    Does anyone know if it will work?
     
  10. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #10
    Yup. Works fine on mine running at 1867Mhz
     

Share This Page