Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

porterusaf

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 8, 2009
I'm a developer and not having a second screen is not really a possibility. The Dell 5k is outside my budget. What monitor does everyone recommend for use with the iMac 5k that won't drive you nuts next to a 5k? I'd say budget max is $950 (Thunderbolt Display). Anyone have a second monitor for their iMac 5k?

Thanks all!

xmichaelp

macrumors 68000
Jul 10, 2012
I would say TBD is the best option. It's still a nice screen and it will match the iMac.

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
I'm a developer and not having a second screen is not really a possibility. The Dell 5k is outside my budget. What monitor does everyone recommend for use with the iMac 5k that won't drive you nuts next to a 5k? I'd say budget max is $950 (Thunderbolt Display). Anyone have a second monitor for their iMac 5k?

Thanks all!

Any decent 4K 27 inch screen will show very little difference resolution wise but you may need to do some calibration to get colours to match.

BlakeBrattina

macrumors 6502a
May 10, 2011
Bay City, MI
I have been taking a liking to the LG 34UC97 Curved Display. I can't really justify it at this point since my desk area will not permit it, but when I change it up I may use one to mount above the iMac.

juanman

macrumors newbie
Jun 16, 2015
Minneapolis, MN
I'm a website designer on a budget. I have the iMac 5k which I use for PhotoShop, Final Cut Pro, all my "real" work. and I use a 20" Cinema Display for all other apps, mostly mail and messages. I found that you really don't need 2 5k displays.

Reactions: porterusaf

Moonjumper

macrumors 68030
Jun 20, 2009
Lincoln, UK
I think a 24" 4K Dell P2115Q would make a good second monitor, especially if you want to rotate it into portrait for use with a code editing window where height is important.

milleron

macrumors regular
Oct 23, 2014