iMac 8,1 memory max??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kirkbross, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    On the apple site it says 4GB is the max memory capacity for the iMac 8,1 (early 2008). On the Macsales site it says 6GB which seems like an odd number for a dual channel max.

    Can I buy two 4GB DIMMS and put 8GB in there?

    If not, what is the technical reason out of curiosity?
     
  2. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #2
    You can put 6 GB into the early 2008 iMac; a 4GB stick and a 2GB stick. What you lose in dual channel speed you gain in RAM-intensive applications (like Aperture, Photoshop, etc.) I have the 6GB in my 2008 iMac now; upgraded from 4GB a couple of weeks ago and have noticed no slowdowns, yet way less beach balls on my Aperture sessions.

    Here's an old forum thread on this topic...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=607076
     
  3. rudigerpro30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #3
    iMac 8,1 memory max??

    Does anyone know where you can find a 4gb chip, when I look on places like tigerdirect I can only find 2x2gb chips to equal 4gb PC6400 800MHz memory.
     
  4. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #4
    This is where I got mine:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/Intel_Core_2_Duo_PC2-6400

    Has made editing in Aperture MUCH smoother! Next up, replace my internal HDD with an SSD and try and get another 1-1/2 years out of it!
     
  5. essuk88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #5
    Sorry to bump this thread, wondered whether you guys could help me.

    I also have an 8.1 2008 iMac with 2gb of ram, and have been looking into upgrading to 6gb..

    However all the links i have seen provided in here and in the forum go back to OWC, which seems to be abit steep and i also gather that it would cost more to ship to the UK.

    Could any of you lot let me know whether this one i have found would be the same?

    http://www.clevedons.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=1248&c=01&i=B0027IVMBY

    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. Orange Furball macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #6
    Yes. That is the exact same spec as the owc one, except the color.
     
  7. kpgh554, Jul 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012

    kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #7
    have you tried www.ebuyer.com i'm sure get cheaper from them look for the corsair" laptop memory as have one in my comp works perfectly. it's number to look for is-VS4GSDS800D2 G
    or if you not live far from iver nr uxbridge got spare u can have for £20. as i tried 8gb mem run ok till use ram intensive prog then got kernel panics etc.
     
  8. essuk88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #8
    Sorry, only just seen your reply! Unfortunately i live a few hours away from Uxbridge but thanks anyway!

    So would either of these fit too?!

    http://www.ebuyer.com/164768-corsair-4gb-ddr2-800mhz-laptop-memory-vs4gsds800d2

    http://www.ebuyer.com/166994-crucial-4gb-ddr2-800mhz-laptop-memory-ct51264ac800

    or even this as a cheaper, short term alternative??

    http://uk.webuy.com/product.php?sku=SMEMLAP4GB200
     
  9. kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #9
    they will all fit but the webuy sounds like it used item. i'd still recomend the first as have in my comp and had no probs at all with it
     
  10. essuk88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
  11. LaurenLeech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    #11
    Hi kpgh554.

    I live Datchet not far from iver and I would like to buy your spare 4GB ram off you if you still keen to sell. I'm also looking to do the same upgrade as everyone else. Could you drop me an email on miller.lauren@yahoo.co.uk if you keen. I'll come pick up and pay cash whenever it suits.

    Thanks a lot.
     
  12. ghboard2010 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Dont look now, I'm right behind you
    #12
    Back the original question posed by the OP . . .

    Does anyone REALLY have a precise, and accurate answer to this question?

    Earlier models had a 3GB limit, but that was driven more by OS limitations (32-bit with 32-bit Mem. Controller).

    The E8235 Core 2 Duo chip is advertised as a 64-bit chip; wasn't the Penryn chipset 64-bit capable as well? If it was then the 6GB limit can only be attributed to crippled memory controller, hmmm Apple wouldn't intentionally do such a thing; would they?
     

Share This Page