Resolved iMac A1173 won't boot, need some advice

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tenzip, Jun 30, 2013.

  1. tenzip, Jun 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2013

    tenzip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #1
    I received a "gift" of an iMac, model A1173. I also received the keyboard (Apple), and mouse (Microsoft), as well as a power cord.

    It seems to start up, I get the startup sound, a greyish white screen with the Apple logo, a spinner, and that's it. I get an elongated oval at the bottom of the screen for about 30 seconds that appears to be a progress bar that does not show any progress, and then goes away. The spinner spins.

    I have no discs. And really, no clue.

    Should I use it as a doorstop, donate this to Goodwill, or try to fix it? Is there anything that could be done with it?

    Just looking for options.

    Thanks.
     
  2. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    That sounds like a software problem. A fresh installation of the OS should fix it. If you're wanting to put money into that machine, get a Snow Leopard disc from Apple and install that onto it.
     
  4. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #4
    Is there a way to do that with no disc?

    OK, for $20, I'll bite. I've burned $20 before, and I'm sure I'll do it again.

    Is there a reason I wouldn't want Mountain Lion? Is this machine too old for it?
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    That machine too old for Mountain Lion. It could run Lion, but it would need a CPU upgrade and it would be a bit slow.
     
  6. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #6
    OK, I'll stop by the Apple retailer in town tomorrow, and see if they have a disc.

    Thanks for the help, I'll let you know how I come out.
     
  7. Habberkuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #7
    The iMac A1173 will only og as far as snow leopard. You can install lion on it, but it will be very slow. Is it possible to upgrade the CPU in the A1173?
     
  8. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #8
    I suspect it's possible, as you kind folks keep talking about it, but unless someone has a processor to throw my way, I don't think it's worth it.

    $20 for an OS disc seems like about the right amount of cash to spend on this. I suspect a processor upgrade would cost a bit more, and I'd still have a marginal machine.

    Unless there's some really wonderful things in Mountain Lion that I just couldn't live without, I think Snow Leopard should do the job.

    Is there anything really wonderful I'll be missing out on in Mountain Lion? I truly have no clue, this would be my first Apple product of any kind.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Lion requires a 64-bit CPU. The CPU in the OP's iMac, like all Intell based iMacs, is socketed and upgradable. The best CPU for it is the Intell T7600 @ 2.33Ghz. Once upgraded, it can run Lion. For maximum performance, the firmware should be flashed to the iMac5,1 firmware that allows the machine to use 3.3GB of ram. It isn't as bad or slow at Lion, but it is slower than Snow Leopard.
     
  10. Habberkuk, Jul 1, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2013

    Habberkuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Location:
    Under your bed...
    #10
    I would recommend staying with Snow Leopard. I have the iMac 5,1 with 2.0 GHz Core 2 Duo and Snow Leopard is wonderful on that machine.
    I would stick with snow leopard.
     
  11. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #11
    The consensus thus far seems to be:

    Mountain Lion would run, but the processor would have to be upgraded. Even then, performance would be less than stellar.

    Since this is a "free" machine, I don't want to buy a $125+ processor, +$20 OS, (and perhaps + memory and firmware upgrades) then have it run sub-par.

    So I've ordered Snow Leopard, and we'll see if that's the problem, or if there are other issues with the machine that are not software related.

    As I said above, I've burned $20 before, and I'm sure I will again. If this turns into a doorstop, I'm not out much.

    Disc is on the way, Apple says July 10th for delivery. I'd hope USPS could do it a bit faster than that, but whatever. I've got time.
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Mountian Lion won't work on that iMac at all. Lion will, but it requires a CPU upgrade.
     
  13. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #13
    Good to know, but not an issue at this point. The Snow Leopard disc is on the way.

    I guess, not being an aficionado, I didn't know there was a Lion and a Mountain Lion. I assumed you all were talking about Mountain Lion when you said Lion.
     
  14. tenzip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #14
    So, received the Snow Leopard disc today, installed, everything's peachy keen.

    I'm typing this on my shiny iMac.

    I'm so chuffed, I feel a bit giddy. My first Apple product.

    Am I now required to begin buying the latest iProducts, as soon as released?

    All kidding aside, thanks a bunch to all who responded. I think this old iMac will be perfect to replace an old, old, old PC that my son uses to watch YouTube videos. It's started to do some strange stuff.

    Cheers,
    tenzip
     
  15. j194888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #15
    iMac A1173

    Hi everybody i have a small problem. Try to reinstall Tiger 10.4.4 on my iMac but i have only disk1 and keeps asking me for disk2. I learn that i can try to install Leopard on the my iMac and i have a .dmg file name MacOSXUpdCombo10.6.8. Now is a part of installation on my Mac from disk1 oryginal and on my screen i see message "insert Mac OS X install disk2. I cannot get rid off this message after many reboots so i cannot procced with new installation. Please help me to fix this problem. Thank you and best Regards
     

Share This Page