iMac Airplay mirroring to Apple TV 3 Problem

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Irishman, Mar 7, 2015.

  1. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #1
    Maybe I'm an idiot, but, I thought that I could change the way my ATV3 connects to the network on the fly without affecting Airplay mirroring from my Mac.

    Here's the deets: Apple TV 3, running the latest firmware available for it.

    My iMac late 2012 iMac is running Yosemite 10.10.2. Today, I was playing around with Borderlands 2 in Airplay Display mode on my Pioneer PDP. All was well except for some annoying lag from the time I moved my mouse to the time my image moved on the HDTV. I switched over to Game mode, which I'll be darned if it didn't help a smidgen.

    Then, I thought to myself "Self. I wonder if I could get rid of any more lag if I direct connected my ATV3 to my router via ethernet cable instead of wi-fi?"

    Myself thought it was a good idea, and I fished out a cable and connected it to the router. After about 5-8 seconds, my game image faded away, and it took me back to the ATV main screen. I went to my iMac to reactivate Airplay Display, and a pop-up said it couldn't connect.

    I rebooted my ATV and tried to connect again. No go.

    Other ATV3 functions work fine. Just not Airplay Display.

    Any suggestions on what to try next?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. AFEPPL macrumors 68020

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Did you use the same or another IP address for the eth0 interface?
    Agree with above. Reboot the mac.
     
  4. mpainesyd macrumors 6502

    mpainesyd

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    You are not going crazy - some iMacs are not mirroring to Apple TV via Airplay:
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6604908
    There is no simple fix for this - it seems to be a bug in Yosemite

    My Macbook Pro mirrors perfectly but a 2013 iMac does not.
     
  5. Maeonides macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    #5
    You may not be an idiot but I am; My airplay was not working because I had the firewall blocking all incoming connections...
     

Share This Page