imac airport speed question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by applegreenhorn, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. applegreenhorn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #1
    I have 3 macs(2 imacs & mac air) with verizon mi424 router and netgear wnr3500v2(set to WPA2-PSK [AES] mode up to 300mps). All my macs are only showing 130mps speeds. Why am i not showing 300mps? What setting am i missing?:confused:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    How far are they from the router? And is the router working in 2.4Ghz mode or 5Ghz mode?
     
  3. applegreenhorn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #3
    the router is right next to macs.Don't think there is a way to change to 5ghz.only gives my mps settings
     
  4. MacHamster68, Jan 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    did you get more mb/s (in reality) before, i just ask because if you got wireless and multiple computers at home on the same router the incoming speed gets divided, so each gets a bit ..at least some routers manage it that way , others give the most speed to the one who needs the most, on the other hand the new iMac's are far from great when it comes to wifi , the unibody is great for heat , but not for wifi
     

Share This Page