iMac + AirPort Time Capsule - will it be better than Linksys router?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by vddobrev, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. vddobrev macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #1
    I am thinking about AirPort Time Capsule 3TB (802.11ac) and I am wondering if my iMac will benefit from a better and more stable WiFi connection/speed.

    At the moment, I have a Linksys EA6900 dual band AC router, and I am not impressed with range - the iMac is about 3 meters away, but the connection txRate drops often on the 5GHz band. I must say that 2.4GHz band is pretty busy as all neighbors are using it, but the 5GHz is only my router.

    Apart from gaining a 3TB Time Capsule, will I see an improvement in WiFi? Is it worth purchasing? Money is not the concern here, I can find another use for the Linksys router, if I knew the AirPort will work better for the iMac.
     
  2. mbt6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    #2
    I don't know
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Given that Apple is discontinuing its router line, I'd recommend avoiding the TC makes more sense.

    Just because it has a fruit logo on the router doesn't mean it will be faster. I'm not sure the 5GHz band will fare better with the TC. Have you thought about using ethernet instead of wifi?
     
  4. vddobrev thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #4
    Yes I have, but the desk is in the middle of the room and the floor is tiled - very difficult to run a network cable. Also, what will happen to continuity with my iPhone if I used ethernet? Will it work? Will the Apple Remote app work over ethernet to control the iTunes library on the iMac from the iPhone?
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Yes, because you're still on the same network, even if the iMac is on ethernet and the iPhone is on wifi.

    Have you tried using different channels to see if that helps your wifi?
     
  6. vddobrev thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #6
    The 2.4GHz band is useless, see attached image, my network is in yellow. On the 5GHz band I am the only network - any point playing with the channel?

    Wifi.PNG
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Yes, because you may find something that works better. It also won't hurt you further if you try changing the 2GHz channel as well, i.e., you have nothing to lose but everything to gain.
     
  8. vddobrev thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #8
    Thanks, I will experiment and report back.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I can just about guarantee the the TC will have worse performance than the router you have now. Based on specs and actual wireless performance tests on Smallnetbuilder, the Linksys is better in every way.

    The TC is a AC1750 class device where your Linksys is a AC1900 class device.
     
  10. vddobrev thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #10
    Thanks for this, appreciated.

    Update on changing channels:
    I changed the 5GHz to channel 48. In the last 1 and 1/2 hours, my TxRate has been from 1053 to 1300 Mbps and stable. This is promising.
    I changed the 2.4GHz to channel 11, but this band is only for guests and other devices. We will see how this goes.

    Thanks all for the help and advice!
     

Share This Page