Imac/AirPort/Wi-fi

Discussion in 'iMac' started by THEROC, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. THEROC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #1
    Hello
    Not having used my Imac with a wireless setup before and wanting to do so now, if I just purchase a normal wireless router, will it get to work with AirPort? or in any other way. Just want to make sure before I buy anything.
    Thanks
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Should work OK. Some routers have problems with AirPort though. Try to make a open deal so if it isn't working well, change it to other model
     
  3. Moocher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    NE Atlanta area
    #3
    Yes, it should work fine. If you aren't experienced and want to make it easy, get an Apple Express or Extreme. Used ones are easy to find. They make it very simple.

    Mooch
     
  4. THEROC thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #4
    Well I am not experienced in these types of connections(though I am experienced in most electronics gadgets) but a friend said he could find me one(generic router) at a good price, not a Mac product.
    If its just a matter of plug & play, then I shouldn't worry about it but if there are conflicts, then perhaps I should think carefully and like the previous poster said, take it back if it doesn't.
    Thank you both.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    Whatever brand router he chooses, make sure it's something like Netgear, Linksys, or D-Link. Brands like Airlink/Belkin/Gearhead/Trendnet tend to suck.
     
  6. THEROC thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    Thank you. I will put that to him.
     

Share This Page