iMac and Leopard Graphic Update

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tamrsukary, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. tamrsukary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    Hello All,

    I just wanted to give you an advice from EXPERIENCE!

    I have an Intel based iMac! I just updated it and installed the Leopard Graphics Update 1.0! BIG, BIG mistake :eek::eek:
    Slow response, keyboard typing does not show as fast as usual on screen, noticeable performance degradation. Re-installing Leopard :mad::mad: and all other updates except Leopard Graphics Update 1.0 fixes the problem. Better, way better performance :):)

    One more thing, I love OS X, but what i love more is keeping it running at optimal performance. This is where Deep Freeze comes in play! Really worth it. Install all your apps, tweak OS X, optimize HDD, then install Deep Freeze on it and Freeze your HDD. This way you have a new OS X every time you boot running at max performance. Once you want to install updates, install them on the frozen hard drive, make sure nothing goes wrong, then you can un-freeze your HDD and install the update, then freeze it again.

    TM

    OS X 10.5.2
    All updates installed except the Leopard Graphic Update.
     
  2. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #2
    Hey Doug - now there is what a paid spokesman sounds like. I love OS X, but what I love more is...........this product I am pitching with 1 post on this forum that I just registered for today.

    :)
     
  3. randyhudson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Great response! I was actually glad to see that this was a thinly veiled marketing pitch. Now I'm sure that this pending update is perfectly fine and I can go ahead and install it!
     
  4. tamrsukary thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #4
    LOOOOOOOOL

    Yeah I'm one poor guy living on selling software! Did I mention I love Photoshop, DreamWeaver, iLife, MS Office 2008

    and please when you purchase any of them, use this referral: Two_Dumb_As*e*_@_Mac_Forums

    As for others,
    Just don't even look at the Leopard Graphic Update 1.0 on iMacs
    Hopefully the rest are smarter than the above two!
     
  5. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #5
    I'm fine after the graphics update, my imac became jerky just as you described it above after i installed the last updates, a restart fixed it.
     
  6. nickf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #6
    Leopard Graphic Update 1.0 is fine.

    Unlike Deep Freeze, which toasted my iMac. Worst mistake I ever made.
     
  7. tamrsukary thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #7
    Toasted your iMac!!! How? What happened?
     
  8. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    Leopard working perfectly here after the update. Of course I did follow the instructions to restart.

    You have issues.
     
  9. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #9
    Deep Freeze is an absolute piece of sh*t that'll slow your machine to a crawl. Don't use it. Leopard does all the hard work itself. You don't need these 'tools'.
     
  10. tamrsukary thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #10
    That's not true. I have it on both my laptop and desktop. They are as fast as they ever were.

    I have no fragmentation or need to run maintenance scripts, and with Deep Freeze installed, I will never need to fragment my drive.
     
  11. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #11
    you mean defragment
     
  12. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
  13. tamrsukary thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #13
    Laptop = Windows = Defrag
    Desktop = OX S = Maintenance Scripts
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    What are you talking about?
     
  15. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #15
    just about to ask the same thing.
     
  16. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #16
    Again, who does this? As far as I can tell from Googling it, Leopard performs these actions by itself, overnight. If you really are having problems with your Mac, try making it stay "awake" all night.
     
  17. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Known issue. A restart fixes it.

    You've reinstalled Leopard for no reason.
     
  18. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #18
    No, that's not necessary. Leopard will run the scripts when you wake it up from sleep. Tiger had that problem though. So if you're running Leopard, you don't need to do anything.
     
  19. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #19
    Even better!
     

Share This Page