iMac and Macbook Pro RAM interchangeable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lazerbrains, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. lazerbrains macrumors regular

    lazerbrains

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    I am upgrading my Macbook Pro with apparently takes this RAM:

    204-pin PC3-10600 DDR3-1333 SODIMM

    When I look on all the websites, it looks as though many iMacs take the same RAM.

    Would I be able to swap RAM between an Early 2011 Macbook Pro, and a mid 2010 iMac?


    Has anyone done this?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Yes.
     
  3. lazerbrains thread starter macrumors regular

    lazerbrains

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #3
    Ok great! Another follow up question, can the Early 2011 MacBook Pros take 16 GB RAM? I have heard they can, but haven't been able to confirm.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  5. lazerbrains thread starter macrumors regular

    lazerbrains

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #5
    Thank you for the links. Great references. I have bookmarked them, and appreciate the very helpful info.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Yes, they can.
     
  7. lazerbrains thread starter macrumors regular

    lazerbrains

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

Share This Page