iMac AppleCare & RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CorkBOY, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. CorkBOY macrumors newbie

    CorkBOY

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Cork Ireland
    #1
    Hi

    I was wondering if someone could help me out on this one. I intended on buying a New iMac very soon and plan on taking out AppleCare. The main reason for this is my iMac G5 (isight) is just starting to give me problems ( red line down through monitor. ( cost of replacing LCD 600 euros) so i am not going to make the same mistake again and bot buy the applecare.

    Question i have is i want to put additional RAM in the iMac but Apple prices are crazy and i have bought RAM for the iMac G5 before through Crucial with no probs. But if i decide to Buy off Crucial and install with this make my Apple Care worthless ?

    Any help would be Great as i have been waiting to buy the iMac since last Sep and was waiting to see if they make any changes @ Macworld.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  2. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #2
    Not at all. Apple consider memory upgrades fine for users to do, so your warranty will be fine.

    Unless of course you fit faulty memory :)
     
  3. CorkBOY thread starter macrumors newbie

    CorkBOY

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Cork Ireland
    #3
    many thanks for coming back to me. I will ring Apple as well prior to buying
     
  4. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #4
    Yes, get your memory from Crucial, but keep your original RAM just in case for Applecare. You don't want to be exhorted to be taken to the cleaner for their RAM because Apple blames your aftermarket RAM.
     
  5. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #5
    No. Installing RAM does not void your warranty (as long as you don't break anything doing it). I know people have had trouble using cheap, no-name memory. I have never had a problem with Applecare using Crucial RAM. There should also be no problem with any repair that is not related to RAM. Save your old RAM. At worst, you can reinstall it before a repair. I have never had to, though.
     
  6. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    In our experience when we sent any units in with non-Apple memory, it came back with the Memory uninstalled and in a protective bag.

    So if you put 3rd party RAM in Apple may just remove it, perform the repair and ship it back.

    Save the original Memory, should you develop a problem reinstall it before sending it back. Of course check for the problem after the original RAM was reinstalled, just in case the RAM was the problem.
     
  7. JohanCruyff macrumors member

    JohanCruyff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    That's what I did.
     

Share This Page