Imac/Applecare UK Unacceptable Solutions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by spacedoutmoomin, Apr 15, 2008.

1. spacedoutmoomin macrumors newbie

Yes this is my first post, please don't shoot me down.

I have had ongoing problems with my 17" iMac, lines down screen. Yes i know its common problem, but my machine is 9 months old.

Apple care have had 2 repairs on my machine which has taken 3.1/2 weeks in total, as well as me driving 200 miles round trip. i received my machine back for the second time this morning (on site repair) The problem is still there and the outer casing is all cracked and split, I call Applecare UK, after two hours they tell me that i shall have to take it i for repair again.

They have had two go's and have failed both times, and my machine has come back damaged, i am a University student with 4 weeks left in my final year, and i need the machine to do my work on. i cant go without the machine for another week while the repair it again.

Do you think this is acceptable?
    Any advice?
    Should i email Steve?

Cheers
    Joe

2. rolex54 macrumors 6502

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

I definitly think this is unacceptable
    you should talk to the manager of the store
    Tell him to fix it very quickly or give you a computer that actually works

3. spacedoutmoomin thread starter macrumors newbie

i have talked to them about it, they say my only option is to get it repaired again.

4. zaney macrumors regular

If I recall correctly their policy is to replace the machine if the first two repair attempts fail. Try pointing that out to them.

5. samwise macrumors regular

If they still try to say repair, it might be worth contacting your local Citizens Advice Bureau and asking if something like the Sale of Goods Act 1979 might help you in this instance?

6. cw2k7 macrumors member