iMac as a display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pvbccr, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. pvbccr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1
    I have a 27in iMac late 2009 is there any way to make it a display for my 2014 13in Macbook air? Any Help would be appreciated.
     
  2. MacPC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #2
    You might want to try an app called AirServer -- http://www.airserver.com. The way it works is you install it on your 2009 iMac, as long as they are on the same network as your MBA, AirServer uses Apple's AirPlay to display it as a secondary display wirelessly(either mirroring or extended. AirServer is free to try for seven days and only $15 USD to buy. I re-purposed my 2008 iMac as an external display, it works like a champ, well worth the $15. You can even project movies from the MBA to the 27" display! :)
     
  3. iMacBooked macrumors 6502a

    iMacBooked

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    4 8 15 16 23 42 ✈ Country: Belgium
    #3
    Or you could also use the Mac app Reflector, it works the same way and as it has been more reliable to me than Airserver (had some issues), I would totally recommend it.
     
  4. phphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #4
    I have a friend in the same situation. Can you not use a thunderbolt cable and connect it to the display port on the iMac?
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    iMacs with Thunderbolt ports don't support display input, as far as I know.
     
  6. Apple fanboy macrumors Core

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #6
    Did the 2009 iMac have thunderbolt inputs?
     
  7. iMacBooked macrumors 6502a

    iMacBooked

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    4 8 15 16 23 42 ✈ Country: Belgium
    #7
    I was wondering that too, I thought they didn't have thunderbolt ports until 2011, but not sure though.. :)
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    Thunderbolt was only introduced in Sandy Bridge Macs in 2011.
     
  9. jg321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    You can use Target Display Mode:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3924#4

    As per the top row of that table, you need a mini displayport - mini displayport cable.
     
  10. MacPC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #10
    Personally I won't go for any cable solutions because cables tend to be messy and takes up another port. (You should see how many cables and wires my setup has, what a mess. YIKE!) Wireless is the way to go. :) There needs to be a law outcast all peripheral makers from cable connections. A true wireless world! Yay. :)
     

Share This Page