iMac as an external display for MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dizzler, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. Dizzler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
  2. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #2
    Yes, but only with the 27" iMacs. Your MBP also has to have a mini display port output. Though I'm sure you can get an adapter if you have an older with DVI.
     
  3. Dizzler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #3
    iMac as an exxternal display for MBP?

    OK. Good to know. So how does this work? What connects to what?
     
  4. vant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #4
  5. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Display Port to Mini Display Port also works if you got a notebook or desktop with a normal Display Port connector. Anything else (HDMI, DVI, VGA) requires active adaptors that cost more.
     
  6. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I was actually considering this as well. You do know that your iMac needs to be on, even though you're only using it as a monitor by-pass, right? Seemed like an awful waste. I just ended up getting a 24" ACD.
     
  7. Dizzler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #7
    I am the OP. Here is what I needed: something to connect my older 20" Apple ADC Cinema Display to newer tech. Here is what I got: a MacMini because it has BOTH a mini-DVI and a mini-DisplayPort. With the proper connectors, it works perfectly!

    Thanks to all for their suggestions.
     
  8. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Quite a bit different solution from what you were initially looking at, but the most important thing is that you found something you're happy with.
     
  9. Dizzler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #9
    Yes. I realized that I just wanted to get a couple more years' usage out of that display. It has pretty good resolution (1650 x 1050) so I hated to get rid of it.
     
  10. mobhit101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #10
    And this will ONLY work with the 27"?

    I ask because I'm about to get a MBP and wanted to dual-screen with my 24" 2009 imac. Will this not work? :confused:
     
  11. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    I don't believe you can do this with a 24" iMac. It was only the latest models (21.5" and 27") that can function as monitors for another computer.
     
  12. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #13
    As far as I know the feature is only available on the 27" models introduced in October, NOT the 21.5". Just more incentive to upgrade to the more expensive model.
     

Share This Page