iMac as TV (Television)/hooked up to satellite, Is this possible?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ::Lisa::, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. ::Lisa:: macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have satellite TV.. Sky. We are upgrading our package and having Multiroom now which means we will have a box downstairs for our regular satellite and box upstairs which will be able to change channels etc.

    Now, I plan on buying an iMac for my bedroom. But I have a decision of buying a LCD TV or using the iMac as a TV as well as a computer. Now it would save me money (as I'm definitely getting an iMac) and I would certainly be happy if it was possible to use the iMac as a TV and hook up the satellite to the TV. Is this possible? If so, please could you direct me to anything I would need to do this?

    I was looking into Apple TV, but it just seems to be a Wifi gadget that allows me to watch iTunes movies/music etc on a TV. What I want is clearly different.

    Thank you for reading and taking the time to answer.
    -Lisa
     
  2. imac/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
  3. itsaka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3B48b Safari/419.3)

    The only downside to running any kind of tv channels is having to do it through a USB dongle type of third party addon since the iMac does not have a video-in port.
     
  4. Sir Tony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #4
    I use a Slingbox Solo to watch TV on my iMac. It works great and I can watch TV from my phone, laptop, at my work computer, and have complete control of my DVR box anywhere!

    http://www.slingmedia.com/go/slingbox-solo
     
  5. ::Lisa:: thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    Awesome! Thanks ever so much for responding.

    I just went to "which product is best for me" and checked satellite and Firewire and it game me this product.

    Have you bought these products before? Just asking as I don't want to buy it and it be the wrong one. If it is the wrong one, would they accept a return? I could call them I suppose, see what they say.
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    I had a quick look into this at one point and seem to recall something that suggested that although there's a clever EyeTV thing that works with satellite boxes, for some reason it doesn't work with Sky's encryption. Will be very interested if there is a way to do it since I'd quite like to get rid of the old CRT myself

    Found this on the Elgato site
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    Kinda? Below would work in the US. Not sure if there's something wonky about how things work in the UK that would mess it up.

    RF-out from the satellite box to RF-in on an Elgato product.

    On your iMac, you'd have the Elgato software always tuned to Channel 3 or Channel 4 (or whatever channel it is that your satellite box uses for RF-out).

    You'd use the satellite remote to change the channels. You'd have to use the Elgato remote to change the volume.

    You wouldn't easily be able to use the cool "recorder" feature of the Elgato to automatically record shows as the Elgato has no way of changing the channel on your satellite box. But if you just wanted to watch TV, that'd work. (Or at least it does in my room). :)
     
  8. ::Lisa:: thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #8
    Thanks for posting that. That's a bit of a bummer eh!? :( Onwards with the look. I have plenty of time. I just wanted to see if it was possible and it is, well kinda with the Sky thing. Thanks for posting.

    Ah yes. I searched Firewire on that site and came up with the product I linked to in my last post which was looking good until the poster above stated that it doesn't work with UK Sky TV.. ugh! I did prefer a Firewire as it wouldn't look as unsightly as a USB but I don't suppose it really matters if its only for a few hours or so each day. Hmm. Thanks for posting.

    Thanks ever so much. I will have to look into that one. I haven't looked yet but I assume it allows satellite to be tuned in?

    Thanks for posting. Yes I don't mind using 2 remotes and the Sky remote to control actual sky channels and on/off on the actual box and the other remote for iMac TV channel (to tune in) and volume etc. I'm not really bothered about recording stuff, just viewing pleasure kwim? Just for the simple of viewing TV on the iMac rather than having 2 screens in the same room (if that makes sense?) Thanks for posting.
     
  9. whonut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #9
    hi, i am wondering about practically the EXACT same thing, so i just wanted to clarify, u can watch and navigate sky with the EyeTV thingy, but u just can't use some EyeTV features, am i right?
     
  10. ruk110 macrumors regular

    ruk110

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #10
    i use the elgato hybrid one and have been for years now. it works really well! is there any way to watch HD freeview on the mac?
     
  11. nzmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #11
    I use a Slingbox Solo to watch TV on my iMac.
     
  12. 00lakes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    #12
    HDMI input for iMac..?

    Hi, I've been researching the same issue for my friend and stumbled across this..

    http://www.kanexlive.com/products/cseries

    It looks as though the Kanex XD gives your iMac an HDMI input for use with PS3 XBOX etc.. so I assume it will work with any HDMI input including SkyHD.

    One problem, it seems to only work with 27inch iMacs.. Also, the price.

    They have products for older iMacs too. I cannot vouch for these products yet, if he buys one I'll post the results for sure. Thanks
     

Share This Page