IMAC BACKUP

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RBGarnett, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. RBGarnett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hey guys
    I just got a 1tb external to back up my iMac
    Basically all I want to do is do a fresh install of snow leopard and back up my applications but keep my files etc on the external to keep my mac as clean as possible as it's being 100% used for audio production,

    What would be the best way to go about this?

    Hope you guys can help :)
     
  2. manook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #2
    make a full backup in time machine
    after the installation mac os x will say you if you have a time machine backup so you have to connect hdd ond then follow the instructions it wil take many hours

    sorry my english is horrible
     
  3. RBGarnett thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thank you :)

    Can I choose to install only applications on the iMac yet still be able to access my files on the hard drive?

    *wen I say hard drive I mean the external time machine
     
  4. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #4
    Haha no one wants to help u??
    I've actually been searching for the same answers.
    I know on google there r a lot of documents, and maybe a forum search would help you as well.
     
  5. oriol4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Hondarribia Gipuzkoa Spain
    #5
    hey RB.....

    ..... I'm new in Macrumors also...... I just did a clean install of Snow Leopard last week, mainly following all the tips and directions found in this great site.....

    .... my 24" iMac was running Tiger, and I did a bootable backup of the whole OS using SuperDuper in a 1TB external drive which I partitioned beforehand in two (200 GB for the bootable Tiger OS and 800 GB to backup with Time Machine later).......

    ...... after making sure that everything is working fine, being able to boot up from the backup, running applications, etc, erase the internal HD and install Snow Leopard......

    .... I also want to have my internal HD as clean as possible, so I didn't use Migration Assistant to restore all the files ......... just dragged the files I really need to the new OS........ the rest (junk included), remains in the bootable backup and can be accesed to whenever needed....... for the applications, Migration Assistant can be used, selecting the option that lets you transfer just the applications......
     
  6. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    My iMac system consists of three drives.

    320GB Drive - Internal
    1.0 TB - External
    1.5 TB - External

    Here is what is on each drive.....

    Drive #1: 320 GB - Mac OS and all Applications
    Drive #2: 1.0 TB - All data files / libraries
    Drive #3: 1.5 TB - Time Machine Backup Of 320GB and 1.0 TB Drives

    I have a fourth drive that I do a full backup of the 1.0 TB on, just copied so that there is a redundant backup of data. It is not a Time Machine back, just an exact copy of the 1.0 TB data drive.


    WHen I get my new 27" iMac it is all gonna change ( sort of ). I will be getting a 2.0 TB or 3.0 TB external for the Time Machine backup drive. The iMac will have a 1.0 TB and I will make the 1.5 TB the Data Library drive.
     

Share This Page