iMac best Windows Desktop?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hoyadoctor, Jun 20, 2011.

1. hoyadoctor macrumors newbie

Newbie here, convert of 25 yrs of PC until 2008 epiphany.:eek:

My wife wants a new desktop. She is unwilling to convert to mac despite using mine almost daily (those who are married will understand when I say that it's something not worth the battle).

I've looked at what's out there currently in the PC market and I've read different blogs regarding boot camp and 3rd party software.

My question is this: can I just install windows without OSX at all? My reasoning (which may be wrong) is that the hardware, aesthetics are just superior in the iMac over most anything else out there.

What are the limitations going this route? I've read about trackpad issues in machines that partition, but if you can run Windows as the sole OS, do those issues go away? Since there is no battery, there isn't an issue that the laptops have, but would processor overheating still be a risk?

Mind you, this is only worth doing if there are few quirks/hangups, otherwise I'll hear it on a daily basis.

Great forum. Thanks in advance for your time.

2. zepharus macrumors 6502a

zepharus

Short answer is Yes, with a caveat.

You can install bootcamp..then Windows 7 and set it to use the the Bootcamp partition as the startup partition.

This is the best option for what you would like.

Just to be clear, better , cheaper hardware can be had. Aesthetically you cant beat the iMac

3. Wreckie, Jun 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011

Wreckie macrumors regular

I've heard that most programs don't use HT yet, maybe it is too early for HT?
    /sorry, wrong topic...
    That happens when you have 4 separated windows opened.

4. MTI macrumors 65816

Query . . . what does your wife do on a PC that requires a desktop?

5. rWally macrumors regular