iMac Bootcamp.... RAM running at a slower frequency?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by applepie555, May 27, 2013.

  1. applepie555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #1
    Hello,
    I have an iMac early 2009 (2.93 ghz core 2 duo, nvidia gt120). I have loaded up bootcamp with Windows 7 so I can run some games and some windows programs. I am using the 64bit version of Windows. Technically this version is unsupported, but it is still possible to get it to work, see http://michael.anastasiou.me/en/component/content/article/22

    I'm unsure if this is the cause of the problem.
    After running it for a while, I noticed that my ram was not running at it's maximum frequency. The ram/fsb is supposed to run at 1066mhz, but under bootcamp it runs at only 530.7 mhz.

    Is this normal? I don't want to have my ram speed be slowing down performance. Is there away to fix this?

    Thanks
     
  2. PJM82 macrumors member

    PJM82

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I wonder if its simply not being read correctly. Its reporting at exactly half of the 1066 Mhz.
     
  3. richard13, May 27, 2013
    Last edited: May 27, 2013

    richard13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #3
    You don't say how you are reading your memory frequency but since it is close to half I'm pretty sure what's being reported is normal.

    PC3-8500 RAM (DDR3) has a clock of 533 MHz with an effective output of 1066 MHz. DDR stands for double data rate.
     
  4. PJM82 macrumors member

    PJM82

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Yeah jut had a look on my Windows box and most report it in as the headline figure but a few program's give you the true MHz speed. Confusing to say the least.
     
  5. applepie555 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #5
    Umm I saw the stat in CPU-Z. Decided to run a geekbench test since it is cross platform and so I can compare stats

    Mac:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Windows:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    So it does seem that something is different on windows
     
  6. PJM82 macrumors member

    PJM82

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    If it was running at half speed your score would be far lower than that. You won't get identical scores between platforms.
     

Share This Page